U.K.'s Jarman Award Reveals Shortlist

Ian Gavan/Getty Images
Film London and British Film Commission chief executive Adrian Wootton

Now in its sixth year, the arts and film award includes a cash prize of $15,000 and a film commission to be aired on the U.K.'s Channel 4 arts show, "Random Acts."

LONDON --The U.K.'s Film London Jarman Award has announced its shortlist of contenders. The 10 U.K.-based contemporary artists in the running are Ed Atkins, Beatrice Gibson, Emma Hart, Rachel Maclean, Uriel Orlow, Charlotte Prodger, Hannah Sawtell, Grace Schwindt, John Smith and Jessica Warboys.

The U.K. government-backed agency Film London and Channel 4 in association with the Whitechapel Gallery unveiled the shortlist Wednesday.

PHOTOS: 11 British Actors Invading Hollywood's 'It List'

According to the organizations, the award celebrates "the spirit of experimentation, imagination and inspiration in the work of U.K. artist filmmakers" and recognizes" individual artist filmmakers whose risk-taking work resists boundaries and conventional definition."

The prize is named after legendary British filmmaker and artist Derek Jarman, who died of AIDS in 1994. 

The sixth edition of the award will be dished out Nov. 6 at the Whitechapel gallery and carries a two-fold prize for the winning artist of $15,000 (£10,000) and a film commission for Channel 4’s short-form arts strand, Random ActsThree additional artists will also be selected for Random Acts commissions, worth $25,000 (£16,000) in total, award backers said.

The 20-year commemoration in 2014 of Jarman’s death will include the publication of new books and see the artist and his work celebrated through a number of exhibitions and screening programs across the U.K.

Previous winners of the nod are Luke Fowler (2008), Lindsay Seers (2009), Emily Wardill (2010), Anya Kirschner & David Panos (2011) and James Richards (2012).

It is the only U.K. award of its kind where an artist is rewarded with both financial assistance and the opportunity to broadcast work on national television.

The shortlist is handpicked by experts from across the U.K. contemporary film and arts sectors.

The 2013 jury tasked with selecting this year’s winner includes filmmaker Carol Morley, Channel 4 commissioning editor Tabitha Jackson and writers, editors and artists Jon Thomson and Alison Craighead.

Film London and the British Film Commission chief executive Adrian Wootton said the Jarman Award "showcases some of the U.K.’s most interesting artists working with the moving image in the U.K."

Added Wootton: "The award is central to Film London’s support of artists’ moving image. This area of work has grown and developed in recent years, and we are proud of our role in providing consistent support of the sector, which is underpinned by the investment and vision of our funders Arts Council England."