U.K.'s Royal Television Society Awards Fellowships

Courtesy of BSkyB
Sophie Turner Laing

BSkyB managing director of content Sophie Turner Laing and Shine Group CEO Alex Mahon are among those honored for their "outstanding contribution" to the British TV industry.

LONDON -- The U.K.'s Royal Television Society (RTS) has dished out seven fellowships to recognize individuals identified for making an outstanding contribution to the local industry.

The seven-strong list of names include BSkyB managing director of content Sophie Turner Laing, one of Rupert Murdoch's key executives at satellite pay-TV operator, for which 21st Century Fox owns a 39.1 percent stake.

PHOTOS: 81 of Fall TV's Biggest Stars: THR's Exclusive Portraits

Elisabeth Murdoch's Shine Group's CEO Alex Mahon also received a fellowship for her "outstanding contribution to television."

Shine owned subsidiary Kudos Film and Television chief executive Jane Featherstone also got the nod, along with former CEO of FremantleMedia Tony Cohen, Sunset + Vine Productions chairman Jeff Foulser, veteran cameraman George Jesse Turner, and Nicola Shindler, founder of TV drama banner Red Production Company.

The fellowships were awarded at a dinner held in the House of Lords in the British capital.

RTS CEO Theresa Wise, who joined the Society in March, outlined her strategy for the RTS at the dinner, including putting more emphasis on connecting with young people, increasing support for the RTS’s regional centers, building membership and creating a stronger web presence.

The RTS is the oldest TV society in the world.