UKTV Ramps Up Commissioning Ambitions

Body of Proof Season 3 Premiere Episodic - H 2013

Body of Proof Season 3 Premiere Episodic - H 2013

The multi-channel network operator owned by the BBC Worldwide and Scripps Networks Interactive has brought a duo of execs to beef up its commissioning department.

LONDON -- UKTV, the multi-channel network operator owned by BBC Worldwide and Scripps Networks Interactive, has ramped up its commissioning team, bringing in two editors to boost output while restructuring the commissioning department.

The TV network has hired former Endemol exec Iain Coyle and Hilary Rosen, previously at the BBC, to work across UKTV’s entertainment portfolio.

UKTV said the hires reflect the success of originated content on the network with network commissions topping ratings on six of the broadcaster’s ten channels.

Coyle and Rosen will report into senior commissioning editor Richard Watsham, while Sarah Fraser continues as comedy specialist reporting to Jane Rogerson.  

The department restructure also sees fellow senior commissioning editor Catherine Catton and her team take on responsibility for factual and features.

Tanya Qureshi has been boosted to development producer, offering a first port of call for new Indies and talent.

Rogerson said the two high profile hires "bring a wealth of experience which complements the existing team, will help drive our entertainment portfolio and reflects our desire to grow and strengthen the commissioning department."

Coyle is credited with helping launch the career of Russell Brand on TV screens and was recently instrumental in the rebirth of the Big Brother format on Channel Five after Channel Four dropped it from its schedules.

He is currently overseeing the production of Ross Noble Freewheeling on Dave.

Rosen joins from the BBC where she worked for Donna Taberer and Pat Young, and prior to this she was creative director at Silver River.

Upcoming commissions in 2013 include Us and Them, a new scripted comedy from Hat Trick Productions, The Roux Scholarship, Dynamo: Magician Impossible Series 3, Dara O’ Briain: School of Hard Sums and Jo Brand’s Great Wall of Comedy.