VP Johnson among SAG winners


SAG first national vp Anne-Marie Johnson, a close ally of guild president Alan Rosenberg, was among 24 winning candidates announced Thursday in voting to fill about one-third of SAG's national board seats.

Johnson and others voted in as directors were backed by the membership bloc known as MembershipFirst, which lifted Rosenberg and secretary-treasurer Connie Stevens into the top elected spots last year. SAG holds elections for a portion of its 69-seat board annually, with top officers elected every other year.

In the latest voting, the guild's Hollywood division elected 13 national board members and 22 alternates, while the New York division filled four national board seats and nine alternate positions. Seven other board members were elected from other SAG regional branches.

On Oct. 3, SAG's newly reconstituted Hollywood board will meet to decide whether to return Johnson to the first national vp post. The Hollywood board also will appoint members to the national executive committee that night.

Elsewhere among the board results, second national vp and New York division president Paul Christie also won re-election to the national board. The New York board will meet Oct. 4 to decide on returning Christie toe second national vp slot; his two-year term as New York president runs into 2007.

There were 79 candidates overall in the board election. Ballots went out Aug. 22.

Also elected to national board seats from each division, in the order of highest vote tallies:

Hollywood division: Justine Bateman, Elliott Gould, Joanna Cassidy, Robert Hays, Anne-Marie Johnson, Diane Ladd, William Katt, Angeltompkins, Renee Taylor, George Coe, Anne DeSalvo (all to three-year terms); Susan Savage (two-year term); Ron Harper (one-year term).

New York division: Liz Zazzi, Paul Christie, Sharon Washington, Sam Freed (all to three-year terms).

Regional branch division (three-year terms): John Carter Brown (Chicago), David Hartley-Margolin (Colorado), Dave Corey (Florida), Jim Hutchinson (Hawaii), Helen McNutt (Philadelphia), Mary McDonald-Lewis (Portland, Ore.); and Virginia Hawkins (San Diego).