Webby noms highlight videos


The nominees for the 11th annual Webby Awards were revealed Tuesday, along with the unveiling of a spinoff ceremony dedicated to lauding original film and Web video and naming content from NBC and MTV among its first honorees.

Dubbed the Webby Film and Video Awards, the new awards ceremony was created in response to the considerable rise of video on the Web in the past year and will honor nominees in 11 categories, including animation, drama, reality and news/documentary. This year's nominees range from NBC's "The Office Webisodes" in the best comedy short category and MTV Networks' "Honest" for comedy, longform or series to "The Extreme Diet Coke and Mentos Experiments" as best viral noncommercial content.

"The diversity of the nominees confirms that online film and video goes well beyond the popularity of sites like YouTube and MySpace," said David Michel-Davies, executive director of the Webby Awards. "From personal video blogs to weekly series, the nominees are changing the world's viewing habits."

Other nominees for the new awards event include VH1's "Tom Cruise on Oprah: The Way It Should Have Been," for best comedy short, Ozone Time's "It's Jerry Time!" for best animation and Yahoo! News' "Kevin Sites in the Hot Zone" for best news documentary.

Honoring the best in Web sites, this year's Webby Awards nominees include TMZ.com, MTV Net's Nick.com and Current TV.

Judges for the Webby Film and Video Awards, which will take place June 4 in New York, include Sundance Channel's Larry Aidem, Showtime chief Matt Blank, 20th Century Fox chairman Jim Gianopulos and Harvey Weinstein. Fans can also cast their votes online until April 27 at peoplesvoice.webbyawards.com.

The 11th annual Webby Awards will take place June 5 in New York. Both ceremonies will be hosted by Rob Corddry.