'Wellness' is winner at SXSW



UPDATED 4:54 p.m. PT March 13

AUSTIN -- Jake Mahaffy's existential, experimental "Wellness" won the best narrative feature jury award at the 2008 South By Southwest Film Festival on Tuesday night.

Awards for documentary grand jury feature and Audience Award for documentary feature went to Daniel Junge for his look at the politics behind a nun's murder with "They Killed Sister Dorothy."

The Audience Award for narrative film went to first-time helmer Mark Webber for "Explicit Ills," a film about poverty and hope in Philadelphia starring Paul Dano and Rosario Dawson. Festival vet Jeremiah Zagar's portrait of his mother and mosaic artist father, "In a Dream," brought home the Emerging Visions Audience Award.

Greg Takoude's "Up With Me," a film written as a collaboration with Harlem teens, took the special jury award for ensemble cast. The documentary special jury award went to "Full Battle Rattle," directed by Tony Gerber and Jesse Moss, about the U.S. Army's urban warfare simulation in the Mojave. "Explicit Ills" also earned a special jury award for Patrice Lucien Cochet's cinematography.

The inaugural ON Networks Greenlight Awards, which recognize excellence in digital TV formats, were handed to Brandi-Ann Milbradt for "Knock Off" (original series ideal) and Jane Selle Morgan for "The Guild" (original production).

The Texas High School Competition award was won by Wesley Bronez for "Picnic," while the special jury award went to Matthew Campbell for "Inflections."

Catherine Chalmers won the experimental short award for her "Safari," while Kaveh Nabatian's "Upwards March" took the special jury award in that category.

In the Reel Shorts category, there was a tie between David Garrett's "Warlord" and Andrew T. Betzer's "Small Apartment." "John Magary's "The Second Line" won the special jury award in that category.

And in the music video competition, TV on the Radio's "Me-I" directed by Mixtape Club and Daniel Garcie won the main prize. Group Sounds' "Temporarily In Love," directed by Randy Scott Slavin and Cornelius, and "Fit Song," directed by Keigo Oyamada and Koichiro Tsujikawa, tied for the special jury award.