Wells earns WGA's TV writing prize


The WGA West will honor producer-writer John Wells with its Paddy Chayefsky Laurel for excellence in television writing.

Wells, who has won six Emmys on shows including "The West Wing" and "ER," will be feted at the 2007 Writers Guild Awards, set for Feb. 11 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Century City.

"John's place in the pantheon of television writers and creators is secure, and yet he continues to earn it anew every award season," WGAW president Patric Verrone said. "I find myself regularly in awe of John's achievements as a writer, as a colleague and as a friend."

Wells, whose other successful TV series have included "Third Watch" and "China Beach," was WGAW president from 1999-2001. A nominee in six previous Writers Guild Awards, he is nominated this year for an episode of "West Wing," "Election Day, Part II."

The Paddy Chayefsky Laurel is given annual to "writers who have advanced the literature of television throughout the years and made outstanding contributions to the profession of the television writer."

Previous recipients include Steven Bochco, Larry Gelbart, Rod Serling, David E. Kelley and last year's honoree, Stephen J. Cannell.