WGA Unveils Video Game Nominations

Rise of the Tomb Raider - H 2016

'Assassin's Creed Syndicate' and 'Rise of the Tomb Raider' are among the titles up for outstanding achievement in writing for video games.

The Writers Guild of America on Monday announced its nominees for outstanding achievement in writing for video games. The four nominees (listed below) include Ubisoft's Assassin's Creed Syndicate and Microsoft's Rise of the Tomb Raider. The WGA's video game writing award honors the best qualifying script from a game released between Dec. 1, 2014, and Nov. 30, 2015, that features on-screen writing credits.

The mentions follow the WGA previously announcing its nominees in the categories of TV, new media, radio, news, promotional writing and graphic animation and film. All of the WGA awards will be handed out on Feb. 13 at simultaneous ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles.

The full list of nominees for outstanding achievement in videogame writing follows:

Assassin’s Creed Syndicate — story by: Marc-Alexis Cote, Hugo Giard, Corey May, Jeffrey Yohalem; narrative director: Corey May; lead writer: Jeffrey Yohalem; assistant narrative director: Melissa MacCoubrey; scriptwriters: Russell Lees, Mark Llabres Hill, James Nadiger, Jared Schincariol, Travis Stout, Ceri Young; additional writing: Judith Flanders, C.J. Kershner, Gabrielle Shrager, Danny Wallace; additional senior writer: Paul Monk; Ubisoft.

Pillars of Eternity — lead writer: Eric Fenstermaker; writers: Carrie Patel, Olivia Veras; additional writing: Chris Avellone, Jeff Husges, Matt MacLean, Jorge Salgado, Josh Sawyer, George Ziets; Obsidian Entertainment.

Rise of the Tomb Raider — lead narrative designer: John Stafford; narrative designer: Cameron Suey; lead writer: Rhianna Pratchett; additional writer: Philip Gelatt; Microsoft.

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt — lead writer: Marcin Blacha; lead English writer: Borys Pugacz-Muraszkiewicz; writers: Arkadiusz Borowik, Aleksandra Motyka, Bartosz Ochman, Karolina Stachyra, Jakub Szamalek; additional writers: Marcin Batylda, Michal Galek, Tomasz Marchewka, Robert Oglodzinski, Rafal Praszalek, Artur Sliwinski, Stanislaw Swiecicki, Pawel Zych; story: Marcin Blacha, Jakub Szamalek; CD Projekt.