WGA Awards: 'Friends' Co-Creators Marta Kauffman and David Crane to be Honored

Marta Kauffman and David Crane - H 2016
Getty Images

The creative team will receive the Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award at the 2016 WGA Awards' West Coast ceremony.

Friends co-creators Marta Kauffman and David Crane will receive the WGA's Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement at the 2016 Writers Guild Awards' West Coast ceremony.

The honor recognizes their lifetime achievement in outstanding TV writing.

“Marta Kauffman and David Crane have quietly and triumphantly created amazing television," WGA West president Howard A. Rodman said Wednesday in a statement. "From Dream On to Grace and Frankie and Episodes, they have individually and in partnership raised the bar for smart, funny writing. And then there's Friends, whose cleverness of storytelling, clarity of character development, consistent wisdom and wit made it one of the most memorable television series in history — it inhabited our living rooms for a decade, and will inhabit the culture forever. We salute them for what they have done, and for raising the bar for the rest of us.”

In addition to Friends and Dream On, Kauffman and Crane co-created the Kirstie Alley comedy Veronica's Closet, while Crane and Jeffrey Klarik co-created Showtime's Episodes, starring Friends alum Matt LeBlanc, and Kauffman and Howard J. Morris co-created Netflix's Grace and Frankie, starring Jane Fonda, Lily Tomlin, Martin Sheen and Sam Waterston.

The Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement is the WGAW's highest award for TV writing, given to scribes who have advanced the literature of TV and made outstanding contributions to the profession of the TV writer. Past recipients include Steven Bochco, Susan Harris, Stephen J. Cannell, David Chase, Larry David, Diane English, Marshall Herskovitz and Ed Zwick, Joshua Brand and John Falsey, Garry Marshall and, most recently, Shonda Rhimes.

The 2016 Writers Guild Awards will be handed out on Feb. 13 at simultaneous ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles.