WGA Awards: Harold Ramis to Be Honored With Screenwriting Achievement Prize

Harold Ramis Year One Arrivals - H 2014
AP Photo/Jason DeCrow

Harold Ramis Year One Arrivals - H 2014

The late screenwriter-director-actor-producer's family will accept the award on his behalf.

Harold Ramis will be honored posthumously at the 2015 Writers Guild Awards.

The late screenwriter-director-actor-producer — who died on Feb. 24, 2014 — will be recognized with the Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement. Ramis' wife, Erica Mann Ramis, and family will accept the award on his behalf.

See more Hollywood's Notable Deaths of 2014
Ramis' credits include Animal House (for which he shared a WGA nomination with co-screenwriters Douglas Kenney and Chris Miller), Meatballs, Caddyshack (on which he made his directorial debut), Stripes, Ghostbusters (in which he also played Dr. Egon Spengler) and Groundhog Day, which landed at No. 27 on the WGA's 101 Greatest Screenplays list.
“Harold Ramis changed the face of comedy. His death last year deprived us of his unique way of seeing the world, at once hilarious and wise," WGAW vice president Howard A. Rodman said in a statement. "From his early work with National Lampoon and SCTV through Animal House, Meatballs, Caddyshack and Ghostbusters, Ramis’ voice was strong, clear, outrageous in all the best ways. His unrealized projects — an adaptation of Confederacy of Dunces, a biopic about Emma Goldman — leave us aching with an anticipation that will never be fulfilled. And then there's Groundhog Day, one of modern cinema's few true masterworks, a film that is impeccably crafted, morally astute, emotionally sustaining, philosophically insightful and funny as hell. We could watch it again and again and forever."

Read more Hollywood Mourns Harold Ramis

The Laurel Award is given to a Writers Guild member who has advanced the literature of motion pictures and made outstanding contributions to the profession of the screenwriter. Past recipients of the Laurel Award include David Mamet, Lawrence Kasdan, Robert Benton, Barry Levinson, Steven Zaillian, Eric Roth, Tom Stoppard and Paul Mazursky.

The 2015 Writers Guild Awards will be handed out at simultaneous ceremonies in New York and L.A. on Feb. 14. Ramis' will be honored at the L.A. ceremony.

Read more Andie MacDowell Remembers Harold Ramis: 'He Was Like a Great Big Teddy Bear'