WGA East to Honor David Koepp

David Koepp Premium Rush Premiere - P 2013
Andrew H. Walker/Getty Images

David Koepp Premium Rush Premiere - P 2013

The "Mission: Impossible" and "Spider-Man" screenwriter will receive the Ian McClellan Hunter Award at the New York awards ceremony Feb. 17.

David Koepp will be honored with the Ian McClellan Hunter Award for Career Achievement, the WGA East said Tuesday. The award honors "a WGA member for his/her body of work as a writer in motion pictures or television."

PHOTOS: THR's Awards Season Roundtable Series 2012: The Writers

The scribe, who has worked on such films as Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, Mission: Impossible, Carlito’s Way, Panic Room and 2012's Premium Rush, will receive the award at the 65th annual Writers Guild Awards on Sunday, Feb. 17, at the B.B. King Blues Club in New York and simultaneously the JW Marriott in Los Angeles. Fellow screenwriter Scott Frank, best known for Minority Report, Get Shorty and Out of Sight, will present the award.


“For the past 25 years, David Koepp has written an extraordinary variety of movies that have thrilled audiences around the world – whether the exploits of Indiana Jones, the terror of genetically engineered dinosaurs at Jurassic Park or the derring-do of the Mission: Impossible team. But more than those adventures, David has given us tales of character and emotion that capture and lift the human spirit," said WGAE president Michael Winship

Past recipients of the Hunter award include Robert Benton, Walter Bernstein, Marshall Brickman, Horton Foote, Nora Ephron, Frank Gilroy, Ring Lardner Jr., Jules Pfeiffer, John Sayles and John Patrick Shanley.