WGA West, East Announce Candidates

Officer and board elections will take place in September and the presidents of both guilds are running unopposed.

The WGA West and WGA East have announced their 2013 candidates and in both guilds, the respective presidents are running unopposed.

The WGA West officer candidates are as follows: President – Christopher Keyser (incumbent) (The second nominee designated by the WGA West nominating committee declined the nomination); Vice President – Timothy J. Lea, Howard A. Rodman (inc.); Secretary-Treasurer – Dan Wilcox, Carl Gottlieb (inc.).

The WGA West board candidates are as follows (16 candidates for 8 seats): Thania St. John (inc.), Andrew Goldberg, Cynthia Riddle, Ari B. Rubin, Carleton Eastlake (inc.), Nancy Miller, Jonathan Fernandez, Henry Alonso Myers, Patric M. Verrone, Billy Ray (inc.), Alfredo Barrios, Jr. (inc.), Flint Dille, Lee Aronsohn, David Maples, Karen Harris andDavid S. Goyer (inc.).

STORY: DGA Elects Paris Barclay President

WGA East president Michael Winship and secretary-treasurer Bob Schneider are running for reelection unopposed. Vice president Jeremy Pikser is running for reelection and faces Jeff Christman.

There are nine open WGA East Council seats in this election. The twelve candidates for the six open Freelance seats are Zhubin Parang, Bonnie Datt (inc.), David Atkins, Henry Bean (inc.), Bernardo Ruiz (inc.), Susan Kim (inc.), Robert Levi, Michael Lannan, Amy Sohn, Courtney Simon (inc.), Norman Steinberg and George Strayton. The five candidates for the three open Staff seats are Duane Tollison (inc.), Jeff Christman, Phil Pilato (inc.), Matt Nelko and Sue Brown McCann (inc.). 

The candidates were announced in an order determined by lot.

In addition to the candidates selected by the WGA West Nominating Committees, eligible members may also be nominated by petition. Members seeking nomination for the office of President, Vice President, or Secretary-Treasurer must obtain 50 member signatures in support of their petitions. Members seeking nomination for the Board of Directors must obtain 25 member signatures in support of their petitions. The deadline for submitting signed petitions to the WGAW is Tuesday, July 23, 12:00 p.m. (PDT). Members may submit online nomination petitions by visiting the members-only section of the WGAW’s website.

PHOTOS: Behind-the-Scenes Photos From THR's Comedy Showrunner Roundtable

The WGAW will host its annual “Candidates Night” town-hall forum, where guild members may meet and pose questions to their Officer and Board candidates, on Tuesday, September 3, at WGAW headquarters in Los Angeles.

WGAW members will receive candidate, non-candidate, and rebuttal statements, if any, with their ballots prior to the election. Candidates may mail additional campaign materials at their own expense. The voting period concludes at 12:00 p.m. (PDT) on Monday, September 16. Members may vote by mail or in person from 9:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. (PDT) at the Guild on September 16. In accordance with labor law, proxy voting is not permitted in Guild elections of officer or Board members. Ballots will be counted on Tuesday, September 17, and election results announced pending final tally.

The WGA East annual membership meeting and election is scheduled for Thursday, September 19, 2013. Freelance seats on the WGAE Council are available to guild members in good standing who write for film, television or digital media and whose employers are guild signatories. Staff seats on the Council are available to guild members in good standing who work in news shops, under guild negotiated contracts.  The WGAE does not endorse or recommend any candidates for guild office.

Bookmark The Hollywood Reporter’s Labor Page for the most in-depth coverage of entertainment unions and guilds.

Email: jhandel99 at gmail dot com

Twitter: @jhandel