Oscars: 2018 Awards Ceremony to Start 30 Minutes Earlier

Kevin Winter/Getty Images

The first promo for the upcoming show, set for March 4, was also released Monday, featuring clips from this year's films and the memorable best picture flub from the last Oscars.

The countdown to the 2018 Oscars has begun, with the ceremony just three months away.

And this year, in addition to hopefully avoiding a repeat of last year's memorable best picture flub, the show might even end earlier.

ABC and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Monday that the 90th annual Academy Awards, set for March 4, will start at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT, a half-hour earlier than prior telecasts. The Oscars preshow will thus start at 6:30 p.m. ET/ 3:30 p.m. PT. The 2018 ceremony will air live on ABC from the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center, with Jimmy Kimmel reprising his hosting duties.

ABC and the Academy also released the first official promo for the Oscars, proclaiming, "there’s no better season than Oscar season.”

Highlighting what’s to come for this year’s ceremony, the ad includes clips from many of this year’s successful films such as Baby Driver, Wonder Woman, Get Out, Spider-Man Homecoming, It and Beauty and the Beast.

Promising “better chills” and “thrills,” the Academy assures that this year’s show will include “bigger moments” and even “better surprises,” taking a moment to poke fun at last year’s best picture flub. At the end of the promo, La La Land producers can be shown stopping their acceptance speech to announce that, in fact, Moonlight had won best picture. “What did you do Warren?” Kimmel can be seen yelling at presenter Warren Beatty.

Watch the promo below.

comments powered by Disqus