Hollywood Reporter's Guide to the 2018 SAG Awards

What you need to know ahead of Sunday night’s show.

The glitz and glam of awards season is well underway, continuing with the 24th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards, taking place Sunday at the Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles.

Following the all-black attire of the Golden Globes and the launch of the Time’s Up initiative, this year’s ceremony is sure to be full of notable moments that will reference the current climate and issues of sexual harassment and pay disparity.

Here’s what you need to know about the 2018 show.

How to Watch

This year’s ceremony will broadcast live on TNT and TBS at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. The live online red carpet coverage begins at 2:30 p.m. PT via tntdrama.com/sagawards and sagawards.org. E!’s red carpet preshow will also air from 3 to 5 p.m. PT.

The stunt awards will be announced during the pre-show coverage, honoring the best stunt ensembles in film and TV.

Hosting Debut

In keeping with SAG Awards tradition, the ceremony has never had a host, but that tradition was broken after it was announced in December that actress Kristen Bell would serve as the show’s first-ever emcee.

“I've sort of come to terms with the fact that I’m not going to please everyone, but I feel confident in that I can bring joy, which I feel like we need a little bit of right now and forward momentum,” the actress said of her debut hosting gig during an appearance on Jimmy Kimmel Live!

“We are delighted to have Kristen Bell as the first-ever host of the SAG Awards,” executive producer Kathy Connell, who has produced the awards show since its inception, said of the hosting announcement. “This has been a year in which assumptions have been challenged, stereotypes have been shattered and precedents have been broken. We decided to capture the cultural mood by casting aside one of our own traditions, and we’re thrilled to have such a talented performer like Bell help us do so.” 

All-Female Presenters

Further breaking tradition, this year’s ceremony will also have all-female presenters announcing the category winners in a move to celebrate women in wake of the #MeToo movement and Time’s Up initiative. Traditionally, a man and a woman have been paired to present each category's winner at the SAG Awards.

Halle Berry, Dakota Fanning, Lupita Nyong'o, Emma Stone and Star Wars: The Last Jedi's Kelly Marie Tran will be presenters at show. Other confirmed presenters include Rosanna Arquette, SAG-AFTRA president Gabrielle Carteris, Mandy Moore, Olivia Munn, Niecy Nash, Gina Rodriguez, Maya Rudolph and Marisa Tomei.

Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Woody Harrelson, Holly Hunter, Daniel Kaluuya, Zoe Kazan, Frances McDormand, Laurie Metcalf, Kumail Nanjiani, Sam Rockwell, Ray Romano, Saoirse Ronan and Allison Williams will also serve as nominee presenters, The Hollywood Reporter revealed exclusively. While the ceremony aims to celebrate women, this year’s show will abide by the tradition of having cast members, both male and female, represent the film for which their work has been recognized. 

#MeToo and Time's Up Impact 

“Beginning with the Women’s March in January, it’s been the year of the woman,” executive producer Connell told The Hollywood Reporter on the morning the nominations were announced in December. “This is a unifying salute to women who have been very brave and speaking up.

“How many times has a woman walked into a room of predominantly men? We thought, maybe for one night, it’ll be more than 50-50 [onstage],” said Connell. “We don’t want to slight the men who have given great performances this year — knowing our membership, I’m sure our men will embrace the opportunity to honor women.”

Despite the sensitive nature of the current climate post-Harvey Weinstein, she assures that the ceremony will continue being an “awards show” and focus on “celebration.” “To me, just having some of these fabulous women onstage sends its own message.” 

Lifetime Achievement Award

This year, Morgan Freeman is confirmed to receive the ceremony’s lifetime achievement award.

“I am thrilled to announce Morgan Freeman as this year’s recipient of the SAG Life Achievement Award. Some actors spend their entire careers waiting for the perfect role. Morgan showed us that true perfection is what a performer brings to the part,” SAG-AFTRA president Carteris said of Freeman’s honor in a statement. “He is innovative, fearless and completely unbound by expectations. As a chauffeur, convicted murderer, boxing gym attendant, pimp or president, Morgan fully realized every character, baring their souls and showcasing their humanity. It has been a privilege to see his genius at work.”

The Oscar-winning actor has received four SAG award nominations over the course of his career. Previous SAG Life Achievement Award honorees include Lily Tomlin, Carol Burnett, Debbie Reynolds, Dick Van Dyke and Mary Tyler Moore. 


SAG noms for the 15 categories are determined by 2,500 randomly selected U.S.-based members of SAG-AFTRA, the world's largest union of actors. Despite many receiving critical acclaim, select notable titles stood out. 

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri leads the movie nominations with four, including best ensemble as well as acting noms for McDormandHarrelson and Rockwell. Rockwell and McDormand both won Golden Globes for their respective roles in the film for best supporting actor and best actress in a motion picture.

Lady Bird follows with three noms, for best cast and individual noms for Ronan and Metcalf.

In the television genre, Big Little Lies earned four noms, including recognition for stars Laura Dern, Nicole Kidman, Alexander Skarsgard and Reese Witherspoon. Stranger Things and GLOW also nabbed four noms, including stunt ensemble nominations.

After receiving their first-ever Golden Globes noms this year, GLOW’s Alison Brie, Mudbound’s Blige, Downsizing’s Hong Chau, The Shape of Water’s Sally Hawkins, Get Out’s Daniel Kaluuya and I, Tonya’s Margot Robbie also became first-time noms for this year's SAG Awards.

Nominee Snubs 

While honoring a slew of critically acclaimed projects, there are a few films that won't be competing in the race. The Post, the Daniel Day-Lewis starrer Phantom Thread and Helen Mirren’s Leisure Seekers found themselves without any nominations due to their release dates being too late to reach voters.

Despite the Globes giving best picture noms for Christopher Nolan’s Dunkirk and Ridley Scott’s All the Money in the World, neither film joined the SAG Awards best ensemble club.

Meanwhile, Kaluuya received a best actor nom for his role in Get Out, yet his co-stars Lil Rel Howery, who plays the main character’s TSA agent best friend; Marcus Henderson; and Betty Gabriel failed to receive nominations with the cast. SAG-AFTRA nom­inating rules state that an actor is eligible for the ensemble nomination only if billed on his or her own title card. In Get Out, Henderson and Gabriel shared one card, and Howery and Erika Alexander shared another.

Patty Jenkins and Gal Gadot’s Wonder Woman failed to receive any Globes noms and earned only one SAG nom for best stunt ensemble.

A full list of nominees can be found here.

The 24th annual SAG Awards will air live Sunday at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET on TBS and TNT.