'The White Ribbon' nominated for 13 Lolas

Germany's top film prize awarded on April 23

BERLIN -- Michael Haneke's "The White Ribbon" may have missed out on the best foreign film Oscar but the Austrian filmmaker is all but certain to sweep the German Film Awards after "The White Ribbon" received 13 nominations for the country's top prize, the Lolas.

"The White Ribbon" picked up Lola noms in all possible categories, including best film, best director and best acting noms for stars Burghart Klaussner and Susanne Lothar.

Cinematographer Christian Berger, whose stark black-and-white images earned him an Oscar nomination, is the favurite to win the Lola for best cinematography at the German Film Awards on April 23 in Berlin.

"When We Leave," a drama from first-time director Feo Aladag, was the big surprise, earning six Lola nominations including ones for best film and best actress for Sibel Kekilli ("Head-On") in her comeback role as a young woman banished from her devout Muslim family.

Hans-Christian Schmid's Yugoslav war crimes drama "Storm" received five noms, including best film. Other candidates for the top prize include Maren Ade's relationship drama "Everyone Else," Fatih Akin's culinary comedy "Soul Kitchen" and Sherry Hormann's "Desert Flower," the biopic of supermodel turned activist Waris Dirie.

The nominees for the 2010 German Lolas:

Best film
"Everyone Else," dir. Maren Ade
"When We Leave," dir. Feo Aladag
"Soul Kitchen" dir. Fatih Akin
"Storm" dir. Hans-Christian Schmid
"The White Ribbon" dir. Michael Haneke
"Desert Flower" dir. Sherry Hormann

Best director
Maren Ade for "Everyone Else"
Feo Aladag for "When We Leave"
Michael Haneke for "The White Ribbon"
Hans-Christian Schmid for "Storm"

Best actress
Corinna Harfouch for "This Is Love"
Sibel Kekilli for "When We Leave"
Susanne Lothar for "The White Ribbon"
Birgit Minichmayr for "Everyone Else"

Best actor
Fabian Hinrichs for "Schwerkraft"
Henry Hubchen for "Whiskey With Vodka"
Burghart Klaussner for "The White Ribbon"
Devid Striesow for "So Glucklich war ich noch nie"

Best documentary
"The Woman with the 5 Elephants" dir. Vadim Jendreyko
"The Heart of Jenin" dir. Marcus Vetter, Leon Geller

Best children's film
"Lippel's Dream" dir. Lars Buchel
"The Suburban Crocodiles" dir. Christian Ditter

Best screenplay
Feo Aladag for "When We Leave"
Michael Haneke for "The White Ribbon"
Wolfgang Kohlhasse for "Whiskey With Vodka"
Bernd Lange, Hans-Christian Schmid for "Storm"

Best supporting actress
Maria-Victoria Dragus in "The White Ribbon"
Hannah Herzsprung in "Vision"
Jordis Triebel in "Pope Joan"
Nadja Uhl in "Men in the City"

Best supporting actor
Rainer Bock in "The White Ribbon"
Justus von Dohnanyi in "Men in the City"
Ulrich Noethen in "Henry of Navarre"
Settar Tanriogen in "When We Leave"

Best cinematography
Christian Berger for "The White Ribbon"
Hagen Bogdanski for "Hilde"
Jana Marsik for "Lippel's Dream"
Reinhold Vorschneider for "The Robber"

Best editing
Andrew Bird for "Soul Kitchen"
Andrea Mertens for "When we Leave"
Andreas Radtke for "The Door"
Hansjorg Weissbrich for "Storm"
Monika Willi for "The White Ribbon"

Best set design
Thomas Freudenthal for "Hilde"
Christoph Kanter for "The White Ribbon"
Bernd Lepel for "Pope Joan"
Matthias Musse for "Vicky the Viking"

Best costume design
Lucie Bates for "Hilde"
Moidele Bickel for "The White Ribbon"
Esther Walz for "Pope Joan"
Ursula Welter for "Vision"

Best makeup
Wolfgang Boge, Heiko Schmidt for "Hilde"
Georg Korpas for "Vicky the Viking"
Waldemar Pokromski, Anette Keiser for "The White Ribbon"
Gerhard Zeiss for "Henry of Navarre"

Best film music
Ali N. Askin for "Salami Aleikum"
The Notwist for "Storm"
Fabian Romer for "The Door"
Ralf Wengenmayr for "Vicky the Viking"

Best sound design
Michael Kranz, Ben Rosenkind for "Vicky the Viking"
Jorg Krieger, Richard Borowski, Kai Storck for "The Door"
Guillaume Sciama, Jean-Pierre Laforce for "The White Ribbon"
Roland Winke, Stefan Busch, Michael Kranz for "Pope Joan"