Who's Winning The Most So Far

Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images

Which movies have scored best? A comparison of key categories reveals where critics and nominating bodies are laying their bets for picture, director and screenplay.


  • Picture: GGA
  • Screenplay: Will Reiser (CCA, NBR)

The Artist

  • Picture: CCA, GGA, NYFCC
  • Director: Michel Hanavicius (CCA, GGA, NYFCC)
  • Screenplay: Michel Hazanavicius (CCA, GGA)


  • Picture: GFA


  • Picture: AFI, GGA

The Descendants

  • Picture: AFI, CCA, GGA, LAFCA
  • Director: Alexander Payne (CCA, GGA)
  • Screenplay: Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon, Jim Rash (CCA, GGA, NBR)


  • Picture: CCA
  • Director: Nicolas Winding Refn (CCA)

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

  • Picture: CCA
  • Director: Stephen Daldry (CCA)
  • Screenplay: Eric Roth (CCA)

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

  • Picture: AFI

The Help

  • Picture: AFI, CCA, GGA
  • Screenplay :Tate Taylor (CCA)


  • Picture: AFI, CCA, GGA, NBR
  • Director: Martin Scorsese (CCA, GGA, NBR)
  • Screenplay: John Logan (CCA)

The Ides of March

  • Picture: GGA
  • Director: George Clooney (GGA)
  • Screenplay: George Clooney, Grant Heslov, Beau Willimon (GGA)

J. Edgar

  • Picture AFI

Midnight in Paris

  • Picture: AFI, CCA, GGA
  • Director: Woody Allen (GGA)
  • Screenplay: Woody Allen (CCA, GGA)


  • Picture: AFI, CCA, GGA
  • Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, Steve Zaillian (CCA, GGA, NYFCC)

My Week With Marilyn

  • Picture: GGA


  • Breakthrough Director: Dee Rees (GFA)

The Tree of Life

  • Picture: AFI, CCA, GFA
  • Director: Terrence Malick (LAFCA)

War Horse

  • Picture: AFI, CCA, GGA
  • Director: Steven Spielberg (CCA)

Young Adult

  • Screenplay: Diablo Cody (CCA)

Win Win

  • Screenplay: Tom McCarthy, story by McCarthy & Joe Tiboni (CCA)




  • AFI: AFI Award
  • GFA: Gotham Independent Film Award
  • LAFCA: Los Angeles Film Critics Association
  • NBR: National Board of Review Awards
  • NYFCC: New York Film Critics Circle Awards


  • GGA:  Golden Globe  Award
  • CCA: Critics Choice Award
comments powered by Disqus