'Will & Grace' Creators to Receive Logo's Trailblazer Honor (Exclusive)

Max Mutchnick and David Kohan Will & Grace - Publicity - H 2017
Courtesy of Andrew Eccles/NBC

Debra Messing will present the award to the NBC series' showrunners.

Will & Grace creators Max Mutchnick and David Kohan will be honored at Logo's Trailblazer Honors for their work in promoting LGBTQ equality onscreen.

The NBC series' star Debra Messing will present the honor to the creators, along with a video message from co-stars Sean Hayes, Megan Mullally and Eric McCormack.

Premiering in 1998, Will & Grace marked the first time openly gay male characters were introduced as the leading roles in a primetime television show. The series went on to win 16 Emmy Awards and ranked 94 on the Writers Guild of America’s 2014 list of the 101 Best-Written TV series of all time. The award show will honor the creators’ work that paved the way for the LGBTQ community to be recognized and portrayed equally on television programs today.

A 12-episode revival of the series will return to NBC this fall on Thursdays at 9 p.m.

Past honorees of the ceremony have included the Obama administration, the cast of Orange Is the New Black, the victims of the Orlando Pulse nightclub attack, and Billie Jean King. Cyndi Lauper will also be honored at the event.

The Trailblazer Honors will take place at the Cathedral of Saint John the Divine in New York and air on Friday, June 23, at 9 p.m. on Logo and VH1.