Will Poulter Among Jury Members for BAFTA Breakthrough Brits

Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images
Will Poulter

The 'Detroit' and 'Revenant' star is on a 17-strong panel to decide the next batch of rising British talents across film, TV and gaming to receive 12 months of mentoring.

The jury has assembled for this year's BAFTA Breakthrough Brits. 

The program, presented in partnership with Burberry, will see a group of talented newcomers from across the film, TV and gaming industries be offered one-to-one mentoring and guidance sessions from leading figures (which have previously included the likes of Barry Jenkins, Amy Schumer, David Oyelowo and Mark Strong), as well as networking opportunities and access to BAFTA events, for 12 months. 

Jury members deciding on the list of names include the likes of Detroit and The Revenant star Will Poulter, himself a BAFTA rising star winner; Tom Harper, the BAFTA-nominated director who has worked on War & Peace and Peaky Blinders; and Stephen Woolley, the BAFTA-winning veteran producer who has been behind Carol, The Crying Game and many other films. 

"Initiatives like Breakthrough Brits demonstrate the huge number of talented individuals who are beginning to make an impact on the creative industries, and it’s hugely exciting to see this firsthand through the jury process," said Breakthrough Brits jury chair and former BAFTA chair Anne Morrison. "Each year, Breakthrough Brits receives an overwhelming amount of support from some of the industry’s leading figures — both through our jury members and our mentors who give their time throughout the year — allowing BAFTA to nurture and celebrate the next generation of creative talent in film, games and television."

Previous Breakthrough Brits — the program has been running since 2013 — have included current Spider-Man Tom Holland and The Imitation Game star Alex Lawther. Last year's crop included Florence Pugh, who broke out with her starring role in Lady Macbeth and will soon be seen in Fighting With My Family, The Commuter and Outlaw King. 

The recipients of this year's honor will be announced Oct. 25.