Gotham Awards: Willem Dafoe, Paul Greengrass Added to Honorees

Willem Dafoe Paul Greengrass Split - Getty - H 2018
Elisabetta A. Villa/WireImage; John Phillips/Getty Images

The pair join previously announced tribute recipients Rachel Weisz and Jon Kamen.

Actor Willem Dafoe and filmmaker Paul Greengrass, both of whom have received multiple Oscar nominations over their careers, have been added to the list of honorees for the 2018 Gotham Independent Film Awards, it was announced Wednesday.

Dafoe, who will next be seen as Vincent Van Gogh in Julian Schnabel's At Eternity's Gate, will receive the actor tribute, while Greengrass — whose latest film, 22 July, about the 2011 Norway terrorist attack, will bow Oct. 10 in theaters and on Netflix — will receive the director tribute.

The pair join previously announced tribute recipients Rachel Weisz and Jon Kamen, who will receive the actress and industry tributes, respectively.

It also was announced last week that IFP market founder Sandra Schulberg has received an honorary Gotham Award.

“Willem Dafoe is one of the most iconic actors of our generation. Throughout his legendary career, he has consistently brought versatility, boldness and daring complexity to his roles. Whether a Hollywood tentpole franchise or a small-scale independent film, Willem’s artistic curiosity has led him to film and theatre projects all over the world, making him one of the most internationally respected actors. The IFP is thrilled to be honoring Willem with the actor tribute this year,” Joana Vicente, executive director of the Independent Filmmakers Project, which presents the Gotham Awards, and the Made in NY Media Center, said Wednesday in a statement.

Continued Vicente: “We are equally delighted to present Paul Greengrass with the director tribute. Paul brings a startling realism to all of his films whether directing a stellar cast in a cat and mouse thriller that stretches around the globe or directing relative unknowns in a tragic docudrama within the confines of a doomed plane. His singular ability to create a visual — and visceral — narrative from his meticulously redrawing of impactful historical events will have a lasting influence on cinema for generations to come.”

Past Gotham Award honorees include Vice President Al Gore, Jason Blum, Nicole Kidman, Ed Lachman, Oliver Stone, Amy Adams, Ethan Hawke, Arnon Milchan, Robert Redford, Helen Mirren, Todd Haynes, Steve Golin, Matt Damon, Natalie Portman, Charlize Theron, Kate Winslet, Bennett Miller, Richard Linklater, Spike Lee, David O. Russell, Ted Sarandos, Jeff Skoll, Tom Rothman and James Schamus.

The Gotham Awards traditionally mark the start of Oscar season, recognizing the best in independent film. Recent previous winners have included Oscar nominees and winners Call Me by Your Name, Moonlight, Spotlight, Birdman, Boyhood, Citizenfour, Inside Llewyn Davis, The Act of Killing, Moonrise Kingdom, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Beginners, The Tree of Life, Winter’s Bone and The Hurt Locker.

The 2018 Gotham Awards are set to be held Monday, Nov. 26, at New York's Cipriani Wall Street. Nominations will be announced Oct. 18.