'Winter's Bone' Leads Gotham Nominations

"Black Swan" and "Blue Valentine," which is appealing its NC-17 rating, also received noms.

Debra Granik’s backwoods drama “Winter’s Bone,” which Roadside Attractions released in June, got a boost in its awards season quest as nominations for the 20th anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards were announced Monday.

The critically-applauded film, which grossed $6.2 million domestically, led the pack with three noms -- for best feature, best ensemble and breakthrough actor Jennifer Lawrence, who stars as an Ozark Mountain girl searching for her father.

Women directors were particularly prominent with Lisa Cholodenko’s “The Kids,” the Focus release about a family headed by two moms, and Lena Dunham’s “Tiny Furniture,” the IFC release about a young woman’s post-college experience, both earned two nominations each.

Along with “Bone” and “Kids,” the best feature nominees are ballet drama “Black Swan,” from Fox Searchlight and director Darren Aronofksy; marital drama “Blue Valentine” from the Weinstein Co. and Derek Cianfrance; and the vampire remake “Let Me In,” from Overture and Matt Reeves.

The awards focus on independently distributed features from American-born or American-based filmmakers who work within what the group calls “an economy of means.”

On the documentary front, the hominees are: Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady’s “12th & Delaware,” which looks at the battle over abortion; Charles Ferguson’s economics expose, “Inside Job”; Laura Poitras’ “The Oath,” a study of two men caught up in the arrests that followed 9/11; Martin Scorsese’s portrait of writer Fran Lebowitz, “Public Speaking”; and Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Illisa Barbash’s “Sweetgrass,” which follows a group of Montana shepherds.

Joining Lawrence in the breakthrough actor category are Prince Adu for “Prince of Broadway”; Ronald Bronstein, “Daddy Long Legs”; Greta Gerwig, “Greenberg”; and John Ortiz, “Jack Goes Boating.”

The best ensemble noms went to “Kids,” “Furniture” and “Bone” as well as Todd Solondz’ “Life During Wartime” and Nicole Holofcener’s “Please Give.”

“Furniture’s” Dunham earned a breakthrough director nom, along with “The Company Men’s” John Wells, “Holly Rollers” director Kevin Asch, the “I Love You Phillip Morris” directing team of Glenn Ficarra and John Requa, and “Night Catches Us” helmer Tanya Hamilton.

Putting the spotlight on movies without distribution in its “Best Film Not Playing in a Theatre Near You” category, the Gothams nominated Robert Greene’s “Kati with an i,” Mike Ott’s “Littlerock,” Francine Cavanaugh and Adams Woods’ “On Coal River,” Lynn True and Nelson Walker’s “Summer Pasture” and Laurel Nakadate’s “The Wolf Knife.”

The awards ceremony will be held Nov. 29 at Cipriani Wall Steet in New York City.

In addition to the competitive awards, the event will include career tributes to Robert Duvall, Hilary Swank, Aronofksy and Focus CEO James Schamus.

The complete list of nominees:

Best Feature

Black Swan

Darren Aronofsky, director; Mike Medavoy, Arnold W. Messer, Brian Oliver, Scott Franklin, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Blue Valentine

Derek Cianfrance, director; Jamie Patricof, Lynette Howell, Alex Orlovsky, producers (The Weinstein Company)

The Kids Are All Right

Lisa Cholodenko, director;  Gary Gilbert, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Celine Rattray, Jordan Horowitz, Daniela Taplin Lundberg, Philippe Hellmann, producers (Focus Features)

Let Me In

Matt Reeves, director; Simon Oakes, Alex Brunner, Guy East, Tobin Armbrust,  Donna Gigliotti, John Nording, Carl Molinder, producers (Overture Films)

Winter’s Bone

Debra Granik, director; Anne Rosellini, Alix Madigan-Yorkin, producers (Roadside Attractions)


Best Documentary

12th & Delaware

Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady, directors/producers (HBO Documentary Films)

Inside Job

Charles Ferguson, director; Charles Ferguson, Audrey Marrs, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

The Oath

Laura Poitras, director/producer (Zeitgeist Films and American Documentary/POV)

Public Speaking

Martin Scorsese, director; Martin Scorsese, Graydon Carter, Margaret Bodde, Fran Lebowitz, producers (HBO Documentary Films)


Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Ilisa Barbash, directors; Ilisa Barbash, producer (Cinema Guild)


Best Ensemble Performance

The Kids Are All Right

Annette Bening, Julianne Moore, Mark Ruffalo, Mia Wasikowska, Josh Hutcherson (Focus Features)

Life During Wartime

Shirley Henderson, Ciarán Hinds, Allison Janney, Michael Lerner, Chris Marquette, Rich Pecci, Charlotte Rampling, Paul Reubens, Ally Sheedy, Dylan Riley Snyder, Renée Taylor, Michael Kenneth Williams (IFC Films)

Please Give

Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Rebecca Hall, Ann Guilbert, Lois Smith, Sarah Steele, Thomas Ian Nicholas (Sony Pictures Classics)

Tiny Furniture

Lena Dunham, Laurie Simmons, Grace Dunham, Rachel Howe, Merritt Wever, Amy Seimetz, Alex Karpovsky, David Call,  Jemima Kirke, Sarah Sophie Flicker, Garland Hunter, Isen Hunter (IFC Films)

Winter’s Bone

Jennifer Lawrence, John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt, Kevin Breznahan (Roadside Attractions)


Breakthrough Director

John Wells for The Company Men (The Weinstein Company)

Kevin Asch for Holy Rollers (First Independent Pictures)

Glenn Ficarra and John Requa for I Love You Phillip Morris (Roadside Attractions)

Tanya Hamilton for Night Catches Us (Magnolia Pictures)

Lena Dunham for Tiny Furniture (IFC Films)


Breakthrough Actor

Prince Adu in Prince of Broadway (Elephant Eye Films)

Ronald Bronstein in Daddy Longlegs (IFC Films)

Greta Gerwig in Greenberg (Focus Features)

Jennifer Lawrence in Winter’s Bone (Roadside Attractions)

John Ortiz in Jack Goes Boating (Overture Films)


Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You

Kati with an i
Robert Greene, director; Douglas Tirola, Susan Bedusa, producers

Mike Ott, director; Frederick Thornton, Laura Ragsdale, Sierra Leoni, producers

On Coal River
Francine Cavanaugh and Adams Wood, directors; Jillian Elizabeth, Adams Wood, Francine Cavanaugh, producers

Summer Pasture
Lynn True and Nelson Walker, directors/producers; Tsering Perlo, co-director/co-producer

The Wolf Knife
Laurel Nakadate, director/producer