World Choreography Awards Nominees Revealed

Courtesy of Toronto International Film Festival
'La La Land'

The awards show will take place Oct. 23.

The 7th annual World Choreography Awards, which celebrates excellence in the art of media choreography, on Wednesday announced its nominees for 2017, including such choreographers as Mandy Moore for La La Land and Kenny Ortega and Tony Testa for The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

The awards — which recognize choreographic achievement in a motion picture, music video, commercials, television episodic, television award show/special, digital content, digital content independent and television reality show/competition — will take place Oct. 23 at the Saban Theater in Beverly Hills. The evening’s performances will include routines from Moore, Ryan Heffington, Bradley Rapier and Cantinas Arts.

The awards show is being produced by Allen Walls, Cecilie Stuart, Jordi Caballero and Cheryl Baxter-Ratliff.

The full list of nominees follows.


Ryan Heffington – Kenzo "World"
Renee Kester and Jolee Lee – Lenovo
Tricia Miranda – H&M "Back to School"
Daniel Cloud Campos and Tamara Levinson – Cillit Bang
Julianne Juju Waters – MSM Epic Squads

Television Reality Show / Competition

Travis Wall – So You Think You Can Dance, The Mirror
Luther Brown – So You Think You Can Dance, Dangerous
Derek Hough – Dancing With the Stars, Pro Performance 2
Mandy Moore – Dancing With the Stars, “Ain't No Sunshine “
Elizabeth Petrin and Mandy Korpinen – So You Think You Can Dance, All Star Routine

Television Award Show / Special

Zach Woodlee – Grease Live
Nick Flores and Rj Durell – Disneyland 60th, Step in Time
Marguerite Derricks – TV Land Awards
Chris Grant, Jaquel Knight, Anthony Burrell, Dana Foglia – Beyoncé, Super Bowl
Nick Flores and Rj Durell, aerial choreographer Dreya Weber – Pink, Billboard Awards

Motion Picture

Charlene Rose – Sense 8
Dave Scott – High Strung
Mandy Moore – La La Land
Jody Sperling – The Dancer
Kenny Ortega and Tony Testa – The Rocky Horror Picture Show

Music Video

Ryan Heffington – Sia, "The Greatest"
Jeremy Strong – Jason Derulo, "Kiss The Sky"
Tessandra Chavez – Van Ness Wu, "One Last Smile"
Lindsey Blaufarb, Craig Hollaman and Noel Bajandas – Superfruit, "Sweet Life"
Gil Duldulao, Luther Brown, Denzel Chisolm – Janet Jackson, "Dammn Baby"

Digital Content Independent

Keone and Mari Madrid – A Simple Go
Jawn Ha – El Chapo
Tessandra Chavez – Incomplete
Keone and Mari Madrid – Are You There?
Lindsey Blaufarb and Craig Hollaman – Carpool Choreography

Digital Content

Kinjaz – Vib3-r8tr
Keone and Mari Madrid – Sound & Color
Anthony Lee and Mike Song – How I Feel
Christopher Scott, associate choreographer Jessica Lee Keller – How to Catch a Ghost
Aaron Sillis, co-choreographers Gianna G:, M.i.a., Yanis Marshall – H&M World Recycle Week

Television Episodic

Fred Tallaksen – The Real O'Neals
Kathryn Burns – Crazy Ex-Girlfriend
Marguerite Derricks – Gilmore Girls
Ryan Heffington, associate choreographer Wes Veldink – The OA
Rich + Tone Talauega, associate choreographers Sammy “Samo” Soto, Jeff “New Style Hustle” Selby, Jessica Castro, Joshua “Floor Phantom” Lozado, Jose “extravaganza” Gutierrez – The Get Down