Writers group to honor Larry Gelbart

PEN USA will give scribe a lifetime achievement nod

Larry Gelbart, the screenwriter, playwright and author, will by honored with a lifetime achievement award, to be presented to him by Aaron Sorkin, at PEN USA's 18th annual Literary Awards Festival dinner on Dec. 3 at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

TNT and Michael Wright, senior vp content creation for TNT, TBS and TCM, will be the recepients of this year's Award of Honor, given each year to a person, group or institution whose efforts have had a meaningful impact on writers in our culture. James Duff -- creator, writer and executive producer of "The Closer" -- will present the award that recognzies such TNT original programming as "Saving Grace," "Raising the Bar" and "Closer."

PEN USA, the West Coast branch of the writers' organization International Pen, will present its First Amendment Award to the WGA West, with president Patrick M. Verrone and negotiating committee chair John F. Bowman accepting on behalf of the guild.

The group's Freedom to Write Award will be given in absentia to Mynamar journalist, poet and pro-democracy activist U Win Tin, who, largely through the efforts of International PEN, was recently released after 19 years in prison.

Producer and political analyst Lawrence O'Donnell will serve as master of ceremonies at the event, which will also honor writers in 10 separate genres.

The literary award winners are: fiction, Daniel Alarcorn, "Lost City Radio"; creative nonfiction, Julia Whitty, "The Fragile Edge"; research nonfiction, William T. Vollman, "Poor People"; poetry, Juan Felipe Herrera, "187 Reasons Mexicanos Can't Cross the Border"; children's literature, Ron Koertge, "Strays"; translation, Donald Revell, "A Season in Hell" by Arthur Rimbaud; journalism, Jesse Katz, "The Test of Their Lives"; drama, Shem Bitterman, "Harm's Way"; teleplay, Terence Winter, "The Sopranos: The Second Coming"; and screenplay, Paul Thomas Anderson, "There Will be Blood."
comments powered by Disqus