Writers group PEN will honor Gelbart


Screenwriter, playwright and author Larry Gelbart will by honored with a lifetime achievement award — to be presented to him by Aaron Sorkin — at PEN USA's 18th annual Literary Awards Festival dinner on Dec. 3 at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

TNT and Michael Wright, senior vp content creation at TNT, TBS and TCM, will be the recepients of this year's Award of Honor, given annually to a person, group or institution whose efforts have had a meaningful impact on writers in our culture. James Duff — creator, writer and executive producer of "The Closer" — will present the award that recognizes such TNT original programming as "Saving Grace," "Raising the Bar" and "Closer."

PEN USA, the West Coast branch of the writers' organization International PEN, will present its First Amendment Award to the WGA West, with president Patric Verrone and negotiating committee chair John Bowman accepting on behalf of the guild.

The group's Freedom to Write Award will be given in absentia to Mynamar journalist, poet and pro-democracy activist U Win Tin, who, largely through the efforts of International PEN, was recently released after 19 years in prison.

Producer and political analyst Lawrence O'Donnell will serve as master of ceremonies at the event, which will honor writers in 10 separate genres. (partialdiff)