Writers Guild Foundation Elects Barbara Corday as New President

The Foundation, a charitable organization legally separate from the WGA, also elected other officers and trustees.

Barbara Corday has been elected president of the Writers Guild Foundation, the organization announced today. Her term is two years.

The Foundation is a charitable corporation separate from the WGAw and is funded by voluntary contributions from writers and others. Among its programs are a library located at WGA headquarters, seminars and conferences, a writing program for military veterans, and a screenwriting workshop program in disadvantaged high schools.

Coincidentally, the WGA West announced its officer and board candidates today. The two announcements are unrelated.

Corday co-created the television series Cagney & Lacey and was the first woman to be president of a major television production entity (Columbia Pictures Television) and first to be head of a network’s prime-time programming (CBS). Most recently she was chair of Film and Television production at the USC School of Cinema and Television. Corday replaces Chris Brancato, who has served the maximum number of terms.

New officers elected were Holly Goldberg Sloan as VP of Development, Elias Davis as Treasurer and Ligiah Villalobos as Secretary. Tom Schulman continues as Executive Vice-President and Dan Petrie Jr. continues as VP Programs.

The board also elected seven new trustees to the board for three year terms: publicist Craig Bankey, screenwriter Lowell Ganz, agent Nancy Josephson, and television writer-producers Marta Kauffman, Bill Lawrence, Jan Oxenberg and David Shore.

In addition to the officers, the continuing trustees are: Neal Baer, Barbara Benedek, Chris Brancato, Diane English, Jonathan Estrin, Kevin Falls, Seth Freeman, Dean Hargrove, Charlie Hauck, Robert Nelson Jacobs, Georgia Jeffries, Jay Kogen, Jim Kouf, Peter Lefcourt, Andrew Marlowe, Shonda Rhimes, Howard A. Rodman, Robin Swicord, Matthew Weiner, Larry Wilmore and John Sacret Young.

Most trustees are members of the WGA West.

Email: jhandel@att.net

Twitter: @jhandel