'Years of Living Dangerously' Named First Honoree of 2014 Environmental Media Awards (Exclusive)

Courtesy of Showtime
"Years of Living Dangerously"

The Showtime documentary series about climate change will be feted at the Oct. 18 ceremony and is also currently nominated for two Emmy awards.

Emmy-nominated Showtime documentary series Years of Living Dangerously has been announced as the first honoree of the 2014 Environmental Media Awards. 

The awards, which recognize people and organizations that heighten awareness of environmental concerns, are overseen by the Environmental Media Association. This year's ceremony will take place Oct. 18 at Warner Bros. Studios, with nominees and more honorees set to be announced later this month.

Years of Living Dangerously is a nine-part series that premiered on Showtime in April 2014 and focuses on how climate change affects Americans, along with how the situation can be improved. Executive producers James Cameron, Jerry Weintraub, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Daniel Abbasi, Joel Bach and David Gelber will receive "The EMA Outstanding Achievement for Environmental Content Award."

The series — which is currently Emmy-nominated for outstanding documentary or nonfiction series and outstanding writing for nonfiction programming — features appearances by such stars as Harrison Ford, Matt Damon and Don Cheadle.

"The Environmental Media Association is so proud to honor Years of Living Dangerously for its remarkable and groundbreaking programing explaining and inspiring action around the most urgent issue of our time, the environment," said EMA president Debbie Levin.

Among last year's winners and honorees were Promised LandHouse of Cards, Last Man Standing, Hayden Panettiere and Damon.

More information can be found at EMA's website

Email: Ryan.Gajewski@pgmedia.org
Twitter: @_RyanGajewski