ZDF, ARD top German TV Awards

'Die Wolfe' takes home three nods

COLOGNE, Germany -- History repeated itself in several ways at this year's German TV Awards, held Saturday night in Cologne. Public broadcasters ZDF and ARD once again swept the honors, taking 16 of 21 trophies, and all the main winners were historic dramas looking at Germany's recent past.

ZDF's "Die Wolfe" (The Wolves), a docu-drama set in the 1940s, won three TV awards, helping the channel to a final tally of 10, far ahead of all competitors.

But it was ARD's "Mogadischu," a "Flight 93"-style drama tracking the infamous 1977 terrorist hijacking of a Lufthansa flight, that scooped the evening's top prize as best TV movie. Produced by Berlin-based teamWorx, the movie stars Thomas Kretschmann, Nadja Uhl and Said Taghmaoui.

For a change, the top winner was also a ratings hit. Roland Suso Richter's drama scored a 21% share in its first airing last November, with 7.3 million Germans tuning in.

Along with ARD and ZDF, commercial network Sat.1 successfully looked to the past for inspiration -- winning two German TV awards for "Wir Sind Das Volk" (We are the People) a miniseries whose plot turns on the fall of the Berlin wall 20 years ago. RTL nabbed two awards -- a best series nod for the Sony Pictures production "Der Lehrer" (The Teacher) and the prize for best comedy show for the hidden camera series "TV Helden" (TV Heroes).

But the awards show itself was a flop. A mere 1.35 million viewers tuned in, a 5.2% share, marking a new low for the event.

Full list of winners of German TV Prize 2009:

TV movie: "Mogadischu" (ARD/Degeto/teamWorx/Telepool/EOS /ZEN)

Miniseries: "Wir sind das Volk" (Sat.1/ORF/Olga Film)

Series: "Der Lehrer" (RTL/Sony Pictures)

Documentary: "Freundschaft! Freie Deutsche Jugend" (ARD)

Reporting: "Die Bombe" (ZDF)

News program: "ZDF-Wahlfor um" (ZDF)

Entertainment program: "Wanna bet…?" (ZDF/ORF/SF)

Comedy: "TV Helden" (RTL/probono)

Sports program: Leichtathletik WM (ZDF)

Directing: Nikolaus Leytner for "Ein halbes Leben" (ZDF/ORF/Allegro)

Teleplay: Silke Zertz for "Wir sind das Volk" (Sat.1/ORF/Olga Film)

Actor: Josef Hader for "Ein halbes Leben" (ZDF/ORF/Allegro)

Actress: Senta Berger for "Schlaflos" (ARD/WDR/Odeon TV)

Supporting actor: Florian Bartholomäi for "Bloch" (ARD/SWR/WDR/Maran Film)

Supporting actress: Anna Fischer for "Die Rebellin" (ZDF/ndF)
Cinematography: Martin Langer for "Tatort" (ARD/NDR/Studio Hamburg)
Editing: Annemarie Bremer for "Die Wolfe" (ZDF/Ziegler Film)

Music: Ulrich Reuter for "Die Freundin der Tochter" (ARD/NDR/Arte/Oberon)

Set and costume design: Frank Godt und Monika Hinz for "Die Wolfe" (ZDF/Ziegler Film)

Newcomer awards: Eva Stotz for "Sollbruchstelle" (3sat) and Henriette Confurius, Neel Fehler, Nina Gummich, Vincent Redetzki, Maximilian Werner and Philip Wiegratz for "Die Wolfe" (ZDF/Ziegler Film)