ZDF 'Dresden' wins top honor for German TV


COLOGNE, Germany -- "Dresden," a two-part miniseries from pubweb ZDF about the destruction of Dresden by Allied bombers during World War II, won the top prize at this year's German TV Awards, taking the statuette for best TV movie or miniseries.

The win was part of a landslide for public broadcasters at this year's awards, the German equivalent of the Emmys. Pubwebs beat out their commercial competitors in all the major categories except for comedy and entertainment.

ARD TV movies "The News" and "Silver Anniversary" were multiple winners as was long-running ZDF crime series "Bella Block."

Of the 21 statuettes awarded at a gala ceremony Friday in Cologne, ARD took nine awards and ZDF seven, with commercial channels Sat.1 and RTL getting two nods each and Pro7 winning one German TV Award.

While the public channels dominated the drama and news programming categories, the commercial webs proved they still know how to make an audience laugh.

"Pastewka," a Sat.1 series inspired by HBO's "Curb Your Enthusiasm," won the award for sitcom, while RTL won in the entertainment show category for the World Cup edition of "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire," which featured German comedian Hape Kerkeling.

In what many saw as long-overdue recognition of Germany's large ethnic Turkish population, Two multicultural comedies -- Pro7's "My Crazy Turkish Wedding" and ARD's sitcom "Turkish for Beginners" -- both took home statuettes in minor categories.

A complete list of winners follows.

Best TV Movie/Miniseries
"Dresden" (ZDF/Teamworx/EOS)

Best Direction, TV Movie/Miniseries
Matti Geschonneck for "The News" and "Silver Anniversary" (ARD/BR/Arte/Moovie)

Best Screenplay, TV Movie/Miniseries
Christian Jeltsch for "Bella Block" (ZDF/UFA Fernsehproduktion)

Best Actor, TV Movie
Jan Fedder for "Der Mann im Strom" (NDR)

Best Actress, TV Movie
Dagmar Manzel for "Als der Fremde kam" (ARD/WDR/Colonia Media)

Best Supporting Actor
Ulrich Noethen for "The Berlin Airlift" (Teamworx/Sat.1)

Best Suporting Actress
Gisela Schneeberger for "Leo" (ARD/BR/Bavaria Film)

Best Camera
Judith Kaufmann for "Bella Block" (ZDF/UFA Fernsehproduktion)

Best Editing
Georg Soering for "My Crazy Turkish Wedding" (Pro7)

Best Score Musik:
Fabian Roemer for "Tatort: Schneetreiben" (ARD/BR/Bavaria Film/Telepool)

Best Design (TV Movie)
Christian Kettler (Set) and Verena Sapper (Costume) for "Under Suspicion -- Welcome to the Club"
(ZDF/Arte/Pro GmbH)

Best Studio Design
Florian Wieder for studio design of "Sabine Christiansen" (ARD) and "German Idol" and "Let's
Dance" (both RTL)

Best Series
"Turkish for Beginners" (ARD/BR/NDR/Hofmann & Voges)

Best Sitcom
"Pastewka" (Sat.1/Brainpool TV/Minestrone TV)

Best Comedy
Kurt Kromer for "Bei Kromers" (RBB/Hofmann & Voges)

Best Entertainment Show/Best Entertainment Host
"Who Wants to Be a Millionaire -- World Cup 2006 Special" with Guenter Jauch and Hape Kerkeling (RTL/Endemol Deutschland)

Best Documentary
"The Night of the Great Flood" (ARD/Arte/NDR/Cinencentrum)

Best Reporting
"Und du bist raus" (ARD/WDR)

Best News Program
"ZDF Spezial: Iraq: War Without End"

Best News Anchor
Anne Will for "Tagesthemen" (ARD)

Best Sports Program
World Cup 2006 in ZDF with Juergen Klopp, Urs Meier and Johannes B. Kerner

Newcomer Award
Rosalie Thomass for "Polizeiruf 110: Er sollte tot" (ARD) Tamara Milosevic for "Zur falschen Zeit am falschen Ort" (SWR)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Friedrich Nowottny