Zimmerman, Price back at Actors Equity


Actors Equity has re-elected its top two officers in membership voting that also filled 19 open seats on the union's national council.

Equity president Mark Zimmerman, whose Broadway credits include "The Rainmaker" and "Brigadoon," and actress Paige Price, who has returned as first vp, were uncontested. Figures weren't immediately available for how many of Equity's 45,000 actors and stage managers voted in the election.

Zimmerman and Price, who will serve until spring 2009, were first elected to the posts in the fall after the late Patrick Quinn resigned as Equity president to assume the role of executive director.

In the Eastern region of council races, Christine Toy Johnson, Margot Moreland, Paul Ames, Ira Denmark and Thomas Jay Miller were elected in the principal category for five-year terms and Bob Knapp for a four-year term.

In the Eastern chorus category, Jeffrey Bateman and Roger Preston Smith will serve five-year terms and Craig Meyer will serve a three-year term. Eastern stage managers elected to five-year terms are Lisa Jo Snodgrass and John Atherlay.

The Western region elected Kate Burton, Jennie Ford, Barbara Roberts and Joseph Ruskin to five-year principal terms. Cynthia Marty and Jane Johnson won three-year principal terms and Michael Dotson a five-year chorus term.

David Girolmo was elected to a five-year principal term in the Central region.