Zurich Festival: Danish Star Trine Dyrholm to Head International Jury

Trine Dyrholm

Dyrholm won the best actress honor in Berlin last year for 'The Commune.'

Trine Dyrholm, the Danish star of such films as The Celebration, In a Better World and The Commune, will head up this year's international feature jury at the Zurich International Film Festival.

Dyrholm is the undisputed queen of Danish cinema, winner of six Bodil awards, the Danish equivalent of the Oscar, for her work, as well as multiple international honors, including a best actress prize last year in Berlin for The Commune, where she played a professional newscaster in 1970s Copenhagen whose attempts to set up a commune in her own home end in disaster. She most recently appeared in Susanna Nicchiarelli's Nico, 1988, playing Velvet Underground singer Nico in the last year of her life as she struggled with drug addiction and personal demons.

Joining Dyrholm on the international jury are Irish producer Ed Guiney (Room), Hong Kong director Mabel Cheung (City of Glass), Swiss producer Michel Merkt (Map to the Stars), Romanian director Paul Negoescu (Radu + Ana) and British producer Lucas Ochoa (American Honey). Together they will select the winner of Zurich's international competition section, which comes with a cash prize of 25,000 Swiss Francs ($25,760).

On the documentary side, Simon Kilmurry, the executive producer of POV, the long-running showcase of independent documentaries on PBS, will head up Zurich's international documentary film jury, together with Hungarian filmmaker Gabor Horcher (Drifter), Poland's Hanna Polak (Yulas World) and Swiss director Patrik Soergel (The Sound After the Storm).

German producer Quirin Berg (The Lives of Others) will judge Zurich's German-language competition section as president of the Focus: Switzerland, Germany, Austria Jury, joined by director Burhan Qurbani (We Are Young, We Are Strong), film editor Anne Fabini (Berlin Calling) and Swiss producer Anne Walser (Youth).

The winner of the international documentary award will also receive a 25,000 Swiss francs cash bursary, while the Focus category carries a cash prize of 20,000 Swiss francs ($20,600).

The 2017 Zurich International Film Festival runs Sept. 28-Oct.8.