Santa Barbara Film Fest: 'All Is Lost' Star Robert Redford to Receive Special Honor

Robert Redford, Sundance Institute founder
Jemal Countess/Getty Images

Redford on Ray: "We lost a true warrior for independent voice with the passing of Bingham Ray. He was a valued member of the Sundance family for as long as I can remember and mentored countless seminal storytellers, bringing their work to the world."


Robert Redford, the legendary actor and director who is earning rave reviews for his work in All Is Lost -- a gripping sea-set thriller in which he is the only actor onscreen and communicates volumes with hardly a word of dialogue -- will receive the American Riviera Award at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival, it was announced Tuesday.

The honor will be presented Feb. 7 at Santa Barbara's historic Arlington Theatre as part of the fest's 29th edition, which will run  Jan. 30 to Feb. 9.

PHOTOS: Robert Redford at Sea: The Making of 'All Is Lost'

SBIFF's American Riviera Award is the festival's highest honor. It was created to celebrate "an actor who has had a strong influence on American Cinema." Previous recipients include Quentin Tarantino (2013), Martin Scorsese (2012), Annette Bening (2011), Sandra Bullock (2010), Mickey Rourke (2009), Tommy Lee Jones (2008), Forest Whitaker (2007), Philip Seymour Hoffman (2006), Kevin Bacon (2005) and Diane Lane (2004).

“To honor Robert Redford with the American Riviera Award is an immense privilege for SBIFF,” Roger Durling, SBIFF's executive director, said in a statement. “His 50-year career -- filled with significant achievements both on and off camera -- is reason enough for celebration, but his role in All Is Lost, one of the best performances of the year, proves that he's an artist that continues to evolve and inspire us.” 

The 77-year-old, who is gunning for his second Oscar nomination for acting -- 40 years after his first, for The Sting (1973) -- has starred in more classic films than just about anyone else alive today. They include Barefoot in the Park (1967), Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969), The Candidate (1972), Jeremiah Johnson (1972), The Sting (1973), The Way We Were (1973), Three Days of the Condor (1975), All the President's Men (1976), The Natural (1984) and Out of Africa (1985).

The fest previously announced that it will honor Oprah Winfrey (Lee Daniels' The Butler) with its Montecito Award; Blue Jasmine's Cate Blanchett with its Outstanding Performer of the Year Award; Emma Thompson with its Modern Master Award; Daniel Bruhl (Rush), Adele Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Color), Oscar Isaac (Inside Llewyn Davis), Michael B. Jordan (Fruitvale Station), Brie Larson (Short Term 12), Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club) and June Squibb (Nebraska) with its Virtuosos Award; and Forest Whitaker (Lee Daniels' The Butlerwith its Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film. Additional announcements are expected shortly.

Twitter: @ScottFeinberg