'American Hustle' Costume, Production Design to Be Honored at Hollywood Film Awards (Exclusive)

For their work on David O. Russell's forthcoming American Hustle, costume designer Michael Wilkinson and production designer Judy Becker will receive this year's Hollywood Costume Design Award and Hollywood Production Design Award, respectively, at the 17th annual Hollywood Film Awards, the first awards show of the 2013 season, The Hollywood Reporter has learned. The honors will be presented at a gala ceremony on Oct. 21 at the Beverly Hilton.

Wilkinson's past credits include the hit films 300 and Tron: Legacy, and he received Costume Designers Guild Award and Saturn Award nominations for both. He previously won a Saturn Award for Watchmen and was nominated for a CDG Award for Babel. Becker, meanwhile, previously collaborated with Russell on The Fighter and Silver Linings Playbook, earning an Art Directors Guild Award nomination for the former. Her other film credits include Brokeback Mountain and I'm Not There; additionally, she received an Art Directors Guild Award for her work on HBO's Girls.

PHOTOS: 30 Years of Oscar Hosts

The Hollywood Film Awards are determined by founder and executive director Carlos de Abreu and an advisory committee. De Abreu tells THR, "As David O. Russell does so well, American Hustle focuses on the emotional lives of characters who are conning each other but also conning themselves as they remake themselves in classic American fashion. For this film, Judy Becker and Michael Wilkinson have created the perfect backdrop for these characters with an authentic and glamorous vision of the 1970s -- its spaces and clothes. We're thrilled to be honoring Judy and Michael with these awards."

Other 2013 honorees who have already been announced include 12 Years a Slave director Steve McQueen and supporting actress Lupita Nyong'o; 42's supporting actor Harrison Ford; August: Osage County's ensemble and supporting actress Julia Roberts; Before Midnight's lead actress/co-screenwriter Julie Delpy, lead actor/co-screenwriter Ethan Hawke and co-screenwriter/director Richard LinklaterBehind the Candelabra producer Jerry Weintraub; The Book Thief's lead actress Sophie Nelisse; Captain Phillips producer Michael De Luca; Dallas Buyers Club's lead actor Matthew McConaughey and supporting actor Jared Leto; Gravity's lead actress Sandra Bullock; Fruitvale Station's lead actor Michael B. Jordan; The Hunger Games: Catching Fire's singer-songwriters Coldplay; Lee Daniels' The Butler director Lee Daniels and supporting actor David Oyelowo; Monsters University director Dan Scanlon and producer Kori Rae; Pacific Rim visual effects supervisor John Knoll; and Prisoners' supporting actor Jake Gyllenhaal.

Over the past 10 years, Hollywood Film Awards honorees went on to garner a total of 96 Oscar nominations and 34 Oscars. (Full disclosure: Dick Clark Productions, which shares the same parent company as THR, has an undisclosed investment in the Hollywood Film Awards.)

Twitter: @ScottFeinberg