SFFilm Awards Night: Amy Adams, Steve McQueen and Boots Riley Set for Honors

Amy Adams, Steve McQueen and Boots Riley-Split-Getty-H 2018
Emma McIntyre/Getty Images; David M. Benett/Dave Benett/WireImage; Getty Images

SFFILM Awards Night, the Bay Area's premier awards season event, has announced its three 2018 honorees: Vice supporting actress Amy Adams will receive the Peter J. Owens Award for Acting; Widows co-writer and director Steve McQueen will receive the Irving M. Levin Award for Film Direction; and Sorry to Bother You writer, director and songwriter Boots Riley, a local, will receive the Kanbar Award for Storytelling.

The trio will collect their honors during a Dec. 3 dinner and awards presentation at San Francisco's Palace of Fine Arts Exhibition Center.

The SFFILM Awards Night, which was moved into the fall in 2017 to become a more central part of the awards season, is presented by SFFILM, a nonprofit organization with a mission to champion the world's finest films and filmmakers through programs anchored in and inspired by the spirit and values of the San Francisco Bay Area.

SFFILM, formerly known as the San Francisco Film Society, also presents the San Francisco International Film Festival, North America's longest-running film fest, and raises money for multiple year-round initiatives, especially SFFILM Education, which will utilize funds raised to increase the number of Bay Area youth served by film screenings that promote media literacy and inspire meaningful social dialogue; gather student, family and teacher feedback to build a national platform for sharing lesson plans for current films; and expand the organization's family-oriented public programming.

"We are thrilled that Awards Night's position in December has once again inspired such exceptional talent to join us," SFFILM executive director Noah Cowan said in a statement. "These artists were selected because their work embodies the values of the Bay Area — in particular, their role in championing innovative cinema, making the industry more diverse and inclusive and actively participating int he social dialogue that is so desperately needed today. We hope that, by championing these artists and these values, SFFILM can have a positive effect on the awards conversations that dominate media this time of year."

Among others, Adams' honor was previously presented to Kate Winslet (2017), Richard Gere (2015), Harrison Ford (2013), Robert Redford (2009) and Robin Williams (2007); McQueen's was previously presented to Kathryn Bigelow (2017), Guillermo del Toro (2015), Richard Linklater (2014), Oliver Stone (2011), Francis Ford Coppola (2009), Spike Lee (2007) and Werner Herzog (2006); and Riley's was previously presented to Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (2017), Tom McCarthy (2016), Paul Schrader (2015), Eric Roth (2013) and James Schamus (2010).