10 Animated Shorts Move On in Oscar Race

Pixar's "La Luna" and Warner Bros.' "I Tawt I Taw a Puddy Tat" are among the shortlisted selections.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the 10 animated short films that will move forward in the voting process for the 84th Academy Awards.

The field has been whittled down from the 44 films that were originally qualified for the category. Among the remaining 10 are a Pixar short, a Warner Bros. Tweety and Sylvester cartoon in 3D and a short from award-winning children's author William Joyce, The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore. Pixar has previously won three Oscars in this category.

PHOTOS: Pixar's La Luna, Sony's Arthur Christmas Preview: Siggraph Animation Festival

Short Films and Feature Animation Branch members will select three to five nominees from among the 10 titles on the shortlist. Branch screenings will be held in Los Angeles, New York and San Francisco in January 2012.

The 10 films vying for the title are:

Dimanche/Sunday -- Patrick Doyon, director (National Film Board of Canada)

The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore -- William Joyce and Brandon Oldenburg, directors (Moonbot Studios LA, LLC)

I Tawt I Taw a Puddy Tat -- Matthew O'Callaghan, director and Sam Register, executive producer (Warner Bros. Animation Inc.)

La Luna -- Enrico Casarosa, director (Pixar Animation Studios)

PHOTOS: It's a Zoo This Season -- 23 Awards Contenders Featuring Animals

Luminaris -- Juan Pablo Zaramella, director (JPZtudio)

Magic Piano -- Martin Clapp, director and Hugh Welchman, producer (BreakThru Films)

A Morning Stroll -- Grant Orchard, director and Sue Goffe, producer (Studio AKA)

Paths of Hate -- Damian Nenow, director (Platige Image)

Specky Four-Eyes -- Jean-Claude Rozec, director and Mathieu Courtois, producer (Vivement Lundi!)

Wild Life -- Amanda Forbis and Wendy Tilby, directors (National Film Board of Canada)

The 84th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Tuesday, January 24, 2012.

The Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2011 will be presented on Sunday, February 26, 2012, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland.