'The Artist,' 'Bridesmaids' and 'Thor' Among Nominees for the 14th Costume Designers Guild Awards

The Artist - H
The Weinstein Co.

A diverse group of films including The Artist, Bridesmaids, and Thor have been nominated for the 14th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards.

The Guild nominated feature films in three different categories.

For excellence in contemporary films, the nominees are Bridesmaids, with costumes by Leesa Evans and Christine Wada; The Descendants, Wendy Chuck; ?Drive, Erin Benach; The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Trish Summerville; and Melancholia, Manon Rasmussen.

PHOTOS: Golden Globes' Red Carpet Arrivals

Sandy Powell, who received the CDS’s Career Achievement Award in 2010, was nominated this year in the period film category for Hugo. That category also includes The Artist, Mark Bridges; ?Jane Eyre, Michael O’Connor; The Help, Sharen Davis; and W.E., Arianne Phillips.

Penny Rose, who has been nominated for all three previous Pirates of the Caribbean movies, received a fresh nomination in the fantasy category for Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides. Jany Temine, who also was previously nominated for 2007’s Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, picked up a new nomination for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. The category also includes Red Riding Hood, Cindy Evans; Thor, Alexandra Byrne; and ?X-Men: First Class, Sammy Sheldon.

On the television side, Lou Eyrich, a winner last year for Glee in the contemporary TV series category was nominated again this year along with Jennifer Eve in the same category. They will be competing against Modern Family, Alix Friedberg; Revenge, Jill Ohanneson; Saturday Night Live, Tom Broecker and Eric Justian; and Sons of Anarchy, Kelli Jones.

PHOTOS: Top 10 Critics Choice Fashion

John A. Dunn and Lisa Padovani, who won last year in period/fantasy TV for Boardwalk Empire, were also nominated again. Their competition includes The Borgias, Gabriella Pescucci; Game of Thrones, Michele Clapton; Once Upon A Time, Eduardo Castro; and Pan Am, Ane Crabtree.

The nominees in the TV movies/miniseries category consists of two familiar combatants, Downton Abbey, with costumes by Susannah Buxton, and Mildred Pierce, costumes by Ann Roth, who received a Career Achievement Award in 2003, as well as The Kennedys, with costumes by Christopher Hargadon.

In the final category of commercials, the nominees are:  Carl’s Jr., “Miss Turkey,” Francine Lecoultre; Dos Equis, “The Most Interesting Man in the World,” Julie Vogel; and Swiffer,  “Country Dirt Cowgirl,” Roseanne Fiedler.

Honarary awards will be announced next week.

The winners will be announced at the guild’s awards gala, hosted by Jane Lynch and sponsored by LaCoste, on Feb. 21 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Here's the complete list:

Excellence in Contemporary Film
Bridesmaids – Leesa Evans & Christine Wada
The Descendants – Wendy Chuck
Drive – Erin Benach
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – Trish Summerville
Melancholia – Manon Rasmussen

Excellence in Period Film
The Artist – Mark Bridges
Jane Eyre – Michael O’Connor
The Help – Sharen Davis
Hugo – Sandy Powell
W.E. – Arianne Phillips

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 – JanyTemime
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides – Penny Rose
Red Riding Hood – Cindy Evans
Thor – Alexandra Byrne
X-Men: First Class – Sammy Sheldon

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
Glee – Lou Eyrich and Jennifer Eve
Modern Family – Alix Friedberg
Revenge – Jill Ohanneson
Saturday Night Live – Tom Broecker& Eric Justian
Sons of Anarchy – Kelli Jones

Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series
Boardwalk Empire – John A. Dunn, Lisa Padovani
The Borgias – Gabriella Pescucci
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton
Once Upon A Time – Eduardo Castro
Pan Am (Series) – Ane Crabtree

Outstanding Made For Television Movie Or Mini-Series
Downton Abbey – Susannah Buxton
The Kennedys – Christopher Hargadon
Mildred Pierce – Ann Roth

Excellence In Commercial Costume Design
Carl’s Jr.: “Miss Turkey” – Francine Lecoultre
Dos Equis: “The Most Interesting Man in the World” – Julie Vogel
Swiffer: “Country Dirt Cowgirl” – Roseanne Fiedler