Cinematographers Reveal TV Nominees for ASC Awards

"Hunted," "Mad Men," "Game of Thrones," "Fringe," "Strike Back" and "Alcatraz" are the nominees in the one-hour series category.
Michael Yarish/AMC
"Mad Men"

The American Society of Cinematographers revealed its television nominees for its 27th awards for outstanding achievement in cinematography.

Nominees in the one-hour episodic television series category are Balazs Bolygo for Cinemax’s Hunted (“Mort”); Chris Manley for AMC’s Mad Men (“The Phantom”); Kramer Morgenthau for HBO’s Game of Thrones (“The North Remembers”); David Moxness for Fox’s Fringe (“Letters of Transit”); Mike Spragg for Cinemax’s Strike Back (Episode 11); and David Stockton for Fox’s Alcatraz pilot.

PHOTOS: 'Angels in America,' 'Band of Brothers' and 'Sex and the City': 40 Years of HBO

The finalists in the television movie/miniseries category are Michael Goi for FX’s American Horror Story: Asylum (“I am Anne Frank: Part 2”); Florian Hoffmeister for the PBS Masterpiece presentation of Great Expectations; Arthur Reinhart for History Channel’s Hatfields & McCoys; and Rogier Stoffers for HBO’s Hemingway & Gellhorn.

Nominees for work on a half-hour episode series are Ken Glassing for FOX’s Ben and Kate (“Guitar Face”); Michael Goi for NBC’s The New Normal pilot; Peter Levy for Showtime’s House of Lies (“Gods of Dangerous Financial Instruments”); Bradford Lipson for FX’s Wilfred (“Truth”);  and Michael Price for ABC’s Happy Endings (“Four Weddings and a Funeral (Minus Three Weddings and One Funeral”).

PHOTOS: 19 Dramatic Big-Screen Transformations

Moxness previously took home an ASC Award for Smallville and earned an additional nomination for The Kennedys. Stockton earned an ASC trophy for Eleventh Hour, as well as nominations for Nikita and Chase.

Goi’s double nomination this year are his third and fourth nods. These are the fourth ASC nominations for Manley and Morgenthau; the third for Levy; and the first for Bolygo, Spragg, Hoffmeister, Reinhart, Stoffers, Glassing and Lipson.

Fox programs earned three nominations. FX, HBO and Cinemax earned two each.

The ASC Awards will be held Feb. 10, 2013 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. Feature nominees will be announced in January.