Austin Film Festival to Honor 'Mad Men,' 'True Detective' and 'Masters of Sex' Emmy Hopefuls

2012-17 REP Matthew Weiner P

The "Mad Men" creator persuades The Beatles to break with tradition and license a song, "Tomorrow Never Knows," for a key scene. A reported $250,000 check from studio Lionsgate probably helped.

The 21st annual Austin Film Festival & Screenwriters Conference won't get underway until Oct. 23, but it has already cast a bright spotlight on several prominent members of the television community who are in the midst of vying for Emmys votes.

On Tuesday morning, "The Writers Festival" announced that Matthew Weiner, the creator-showrunner of AMC's drama series Mad Men, will receive this year's Outstanding Television Writer award, which went last year to Breaking Bad creator/showrunner Vince Gilligan, and before that has gone to the likes of David Simon, Chris Carter, David Milch, Mike Judge, Garry Shandling, David Chase and Mitch Hurwitz, among others.

The fest also announced that it will host a panel that will include Michelle Ashford, the showrunner of Showtime's drama series Masters of Sex, and Cary Fukunaga, the director of HBO's drama series True Detective.

Other distinguished panelists will include William Broyles Jr. (writer of Apollo 13), Terry George (writer-director of Hotel Rwanda), Richard Kelly (writer-director of Donnie Darko), Emma Tillinger Koskoff (producer of The Wolf of Wall Street), Neil LaBute (writer-director of The Shape of Things) and Whit Stillman (writer-director of Metropolitan).

Oscar nominee Jim Sheridan (writer-director of My Left Foot) was previously announced as this year's Distinguished Screenwriter honoree. The fest will announce another, final batch of honorees in the coming weeks.

Twitter: @ScottFeinberg