'Bully' Doc Awarded Producers Guild's 'Stanley Kramer' Award

Lee Hirsch - Director - Bully - P 2012

Bully will be honored by the Producers Guild of America at its annual awards show in January.

The 2011 documentary directed by Lee Hirsch that tracks the tragic impact bullying has had on five students throughout the nation will be given the Stanley Kramer Award, which honors productions and individuals that "illuminate and raise public awareness of important social issues."

Hirsch and producer Cynthia Lowen will accept the award.

"The social-action campaign for Bully raised significant funding that allowed for over 250,000 students nationwide to take field trips within an educational framework to see the film," PGA Awards chair Michael De Luca said in a statement. "Bully sparked a movement, sparked a shift in consciousness and rallied people of all ages to stand up against intolerance and hate. It’s a film that I believe Stanley Kramer himself would applaud, and we’re thrilled to recognize it with this honor."

The film was the subject of multiple organized drives, with students campaigning to change its rating from R to PG-13 (Harvey Weinstein, the film's executive producer, ultimately agreed to some edits to make it so), while students also worked to make sure their classrooms were able to travel together to see the movie.

The PGA Awards will take place Jan. 26. Previous winners of the Stanley Kramer Award include Hotel Rwanda and An Inconvenient Truth.