Clint Eastwood Recognized by Society of Camera Operators

Clint Eastwood - 39th AFI Life Achievement Award - P - 2011
Christopher Polk/Getty Images

Clint Eastwood will be presented the Governors Award for Lifetime Achievement , during the Society of Camera Operators’ Lifetime Achievement Awards, Feb. 19 at the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in North Hollywood.

Also announced on Thursday is Phil Radin, executive VP, marketing, at Panavision will receive The President’s Award for Lifetime Achievement.

The SOC will present two awards for camera operator of the year. Nominees in the feature film category are: Will Arnot, The Help; Stephen Campanelli, J. Edgar; Mitch Dubin, War Horse; Peter Rosenfeld, Cowboys & Aliens; and P. Scott Sakamoto, The Descendants.

The television camera operator of the year nominees include: Grayson Austin, Memphis Beat; Gregory P. Collier, Bones; Simon Jayes, True Blood; Andrew Mitchell, Glee; and Chris Tufty, The Closer.

The historical shot award will be presented to George Richmond for his handheld shot in the scene titled, “The Siege of Bexhill” in the film Children of Men.

As previously announced, also during the evening Paul Babin (Terminator 2: Judgement Day) will receive the Lifetime Achievement as camera operator award; Zoran Veselic (Moneyball) will be recognized for Lifetime Achievement as camera technician; Harry Rez (Providence) will be honored for Lifetime Achievement as mobile camera platform operator; Andrew Cooper, whose credits as a motion picture still photographer include War Horse, will receive the Lifetime Achievement as stills photographer award; and Sol Negrin will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for distinguished service to the motion picture industry.

Technical achievement awards will be presented for Thales Angenieux’s Optimo handheld zoom lenses, and Herb Ault’s Grip Trix Shadow Tracker and Tracker XL Electric Powered Camera Platforms.

The SOC holds its annual awards event as a fundraiser for the Vision Center at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles.