'Harry Potter' Creative Team to Receive ADG's Cinematic Imagery Award

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
Warner Bros.

The creative team behind Warner Bros.' multi-billion grossing Harry Potter films will be receiving the Art Directors Guild's Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery Award at the ADG's 16th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards in February.

Honorees will include producers David Heyman and David Barron, director David Yates, author J.K. Rowling, screenwriter Steve Kloves, production designer Stuart Craig, art director Neil Lamont and set decorator Stephanie McMillan. Each awardee worked on multiple films in the series, with Rowling, Heyman, Kloves, Craig and McMillan being with it from the first film, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone in 2001. Director Yates worked on the final four films in the series.

PHOTOS: 10 Billion Dollar Babies: Films That Have Crossed the 10 Figure Mark

This is the first time the ADG has presented its Cinematic Imagery Award to a series of films. Previous recipients of the award have included Warren Beatty, Clint Eastwood, Blake Edwards, Terry Gilliam, Ray Harryhausen, Norman Jewison, John Lasseter, George Lucas, Frank Oz and Steven Spielberg.

The Harry Potter series of films, which concluded in July with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows -- Part 2, has grossed more than $7.7 billion worldwide and been nominated for nine Academy Awards, including best art direction.

The awards will be handed out February 4, 2012 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.