Hollywood Film Awards Announces Producer, Screenwriter, Breakthrough Director and Composer Honorees (Exclusive)

Letty Aronson ("Midnight in Paris"), Michel Hazanavicius ("The Artist"), Diablo Cody ("Young Adult") and Alberto Iglesias ("Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy") will collect their statuettes at a gala ceremony Oct. 24.
Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Diablo Cody
The 15th annual Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Film Awards, presented by Starz Entertainment, will honor Golden Globe winner Letty Aronson with its Hollywood Producer Award for Midnight in Paris, Michel Hazanavicius with its Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award for The Artist, Oscar winner Diablo Cody with its Hollywood Screenwriter Award for Young Adult and two-time Oscar nominee Alberto Iglesias with its Hollywood Film Composer Award for both Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and The Skin I Live In. All four individuals will collect their statuettes at the Hollywood Awards Gala Ceremony, which will take place at the Beverly Hilton on Oct. 24.

"We are very proud to recognize the films and work of these talented filmmakers," said Carlos de Abreu, Founder of the Hollywood Awards Gala.

EXCLUSIVE: Hollywood Film Awards Honorees Announced (Exclusive)

Aronson produced nine Woody Allen films -- including Vicky Cristina Barcelona (2008), for which she won the best picture (musical or comedy) Golden Globe -- prior to Midnight in Paris, which recently became the writer-director's most commercially successful outing ever with box-office receipts totaling nearly $55 million domestically and more than $107 million internationally. Previous recipients of her award include Mel Gibson, Mike Medavoy, Ryan Kavanaugh, and Christian Colson and Danny Boyle.

Hazanavicius is a Frenchman who had never made a film in America before The Artist, the black-and-white silent film that was a smash hit at the Cannes Film Festival and was soon thereafter picked up by the Weinstein Co. He is married to The Artist's leading lady, Berenice Bejo, and was heretofore best known for his collaborations with The Artist's leading ma,n Jean Dujardin, on OSS 117 -- Cairo, Nest of Spies (2006) and OSS 117 -- Lost in Rio (2009), France's comedic answer to America's James Bond films. Previous recipients of his award include McG, Zach Braff, Paul Haggis, Ryan Murphy, Ben Affleck and John Patrick Shanley.

EXCLUSIVE: Glenn Close to Receive Career Achievement Honor at Hollywood Film Awards

Cody, who is best known for her Oscar-winning original screenplay Juno (2007), is being honored for Young Adult, which reunited her with that film's director, Jason Reitman. During the years between the two projects, she penned the script for Jennifer's Body (2009) and many of the 36 episodes of the Emmy- and Golden Globe-winning Showtime series The United States of Tara (2009-11). Previous recipients of her award include Robert Towne, Ronald Bass, John Logan, Akiva Goldsman, Eric Roth, Christopher Hampton, John Patrick Shanley and Aaron Sorkin.

Iglesias, meanwhile, has twice been nominated for the best original score Oscar -- for The Constant Gardener (2005) and The Kite Runner (2007) -- and has to be considered a contender for another nod this year for Tomas Alfredson's Cold War thriller Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and/or Pedro Almodovar's haunting The Skin I Live In. (He has scored the vast majority of fellow Spaniard Almodovar's films over the years.) Previous recipients of his award include Thomas Newman, Harry Gregson-Williams, Gustavo Santaolalla, Mark Isham, Danny Elfman and Hans Zimmer.

EXCLUSIVE: 'The Help' to Receive Ensemble Award at 15th Annual Hollywood Film Awards

In recent weeks, as "The Race" was the first to report, de Abreu announced the recipients of several other prizes, as well: the cast of The Help for the Hollywood Ensemble Award; Oscar nominee Michelle Williams (My Week with Marilyn, Meek's Cutoff, Take This Waltz) for the Hollywood Actress Award; Oscar nominee Christopher Plummer (Beginners) for the Hollywood Supporting Actor Award; Rango for the Hollywood Animation Award; Oscar nominee Emmanuel Lubezki (The Tree of Life) for the Hollywood Cinematographer Award; Oscar winner Stephen Mirrione (The Ides of March) with the Hollywood Editor Award; Oscar nominee James Murakami (J. Edgar) for the Hollywood Production Designer Award; Oscar winner Scott Farrar (Transformers: Dark of the Moon) for the Hollywood Visual Effects Award; Joseph Gordon-Levitt (50/50) for the Hollywood Breakthrough Actor Award; Jessica Chastain (Coriolanus, The Debt, The Help, Take Shelter, and The Tree of Life) for the Hollywood Breakthrough Actress Award; Felicity Jones (Like Crazy) for the New Hollywood Award; and Oscar nominee Glenn Close (Albert Nobbs) for the Hollywood Career Achievement Award. He said that the remaining honorees will be announced over the next few weeks.


EXCLUSIVE: 'Rango' to Receive Animation Award at 15th annual Hollywood Film Awards

EXCLUSIVE: Michelle Williams to Receive Hollywood Actress Award at 15th Annual Hollywood Film Awards