Hollywood Film Awards to Honor 'Quartet' Director Dustin Hoffman (Exclusive)

Quartet Film Still - Dustin Hoffman - H 2012
The Weinstein Co.

The Hollywood Reporter has learned that Dustin Hoffman, the veteran two-time best actor Oscar winner who is now a best director Oscar contender for his directorial debut Quartet, will receive the Hollywood Breakthrough Director Achievement Award at the 16th annual Hollywood Film Awards -- the first awards show of the 2012 Oscar season -- when its gala ceremony is held Oct. 22 at the Beverly Hilton.

The Hollywood Film Awards, which are associated with the Hollywood Film Festival and determined by HFF founder and executive director Carlos de Abreu and his advisory team, recognize individuals for both career achievement and work released within the calendar year. De Abreu tells THR, "It is a great honor to recognize Dustin Hoffman for his directorial debut for the movie Quartet. His exquisite work and directorial skills are remarkable."

Previous recipients of the Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award include McG (2002), Zach Braff (2004), Paul Haggis (2005), Ryan Murphy (2006), Ben Affleck (2007), John Patrick Shanley (2008) and Michel Hazanavicius (2011).

Hoffman is best known for his big-screen performances in films such as The Graduate (1967), Midnight Cowboy (1969), Little Big Man (1970), Straw Dogs (1971), Papillon (1973), Lenny (1974), All the President's Men (1976), Marathon Man (1976), Kramer vs. Kramer (1979), Tootsie (1982), Rain Man (1988) and Wag the Dog (1997). He has been angling to direct for years and has finally done so at age 75, adapting Oscar winner Ronald Harwood’s play-turned-screenplay about four bickering residents of a home for retired opera singers who decide to unite to mount one last performance.

Quartet, which premiered at September's Toronto International Film Festival (where it received a standing ovation), stars a formidable foursome of septuagenarian actors: Tom Courtenay, who was Oscar-nominated 29 years ago for The Dresser (1983), and 18 years before that for Doctor Zhivago (1965); Pauline Collins, an Oscar nominee 23 years ago for Shirley Valentine (1989); Billy Connolly, a veteran Scottish actor-comedian; and Maggie Smith, a six-time Oscar nominee who has won twice, for The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie (1969) and California Suite (1978). Revered vet Michael Gambon also plays a key role.

THR recently revealed the identities of several other films and people who will be honored at this year's Hollywood Film Awards, including the recipients of the Hollywood Ensemble Acting Award, Hollywood Director Award, Hollywood Actor Award, Hollywood Actress Award, Hollywood Supporting Actor Award, Hollywood Supporting Actress Award, Hollywood Producer Award, Hollywood Screenwriter Award, Hollywood Animation Award, Hollywood Comedy Award, New Hollywood Award, Hollywood Breakout Performance Award, Hollywood Cinematographer Award, Hollywood Editor Award, Hollywood Production Designer Award, Hollywood Visual Effects Award and Hollywood Career Achievement Award.

In the past nine years, Hollywood Film Awards honorees went on to garner a total of 85 Oscar nominations and 32 Oscars.