Hollywood Film Awards to Honor Michael B. Jordan, Sophie Nelisse and David Oyelowo (Exclusive)

Fruitvale Still 2 - H 2013

Fruitvale Still 2 - H 2013

Three up-and-coming young actors -- Fruitvale Station's Michael B. Jordan, The Book Thief's Sophie Nelisse and Lee Daniels' The Butler's David Oyelowo -- will be recipients of this year's Hollywood Spotlight Awards at the 17th annual Hollywood Film Awards, the first awards show of the 2013 season, on Oct. 21 at the Beverly Hilton, The Hollywood Reporter has learned.

Jordan, a 26-year-old American actor, has been widely cheered for his portrayal of a real person who was unjustly killed by police in the powerful drama Fruitvale Station, which The Weinstein Co. released  July 12. Previously, he was best known for his roles on the popular television series The Wire, Friday Night Lights and Parenthood.

FEINBERG FORECAST: Updated Projections (With 21 Weeks Until the 86th Oscars)

Nelisse, a 13-year-old Canadian actress, is said to be terrific as a plucky young German girl who is sent to live with a new family during World World II in The Book Thief, which 20th Century Fox will release Nov. 15. She was previously best known for her co-starring role in Monsieur Lazhar, Canada's best foreign language film Oscar nominee of two years ago.

And Oyelowo, a 37-year-old British actor, earned rave reviews for his role as the rebellious oldest son of a White House employee in The Butler, which The Weinstein Co. released Aug. 5. He was previously best known for his work in the British theater (he was the first black actor to play an English monarch in a Royal Shakespeare Company production) and TV (he starred on BBC1's acclaimed series Spooks), as well as his appearances in The Last King of Scotland (2006), The Help (2011), Middle of Nowhere (2012), Lincoln (2012) and The Paperboy (2012). On the big screen, he will soon be seen as Martin Luther King, Jr. in Selma.

The Hollywood Film Awards are determined by founder and executive director Carlos de Abreu and an advisory committee. De Abreu tells THR, "We are very excited that we will be able to recognize these acting talents on their road to discovery and stardom." (Full disclosure: Dick Clark Productions, which shares the same parent company as THR, has an undisclosed investment in the Hollywood Film Awards.)

Previous recipients of the Hollywood Spotlight Award, which recognizes the year's top young talent, include Berenice Bejo (The Artist), Jean Dujardin (The Artist), Elle Fanning (Super 8), Amber Heard (The Rum Diary), Milla Jovovich (Stone), Mila Kunis (Black Swan), Melanie Lynskey (Up in the Air), Leighton Meester (Country Strong), Robert Pattinson (Twilight), Barry Pepper (Casino Jack), Noomi Rapace (The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo), Andrea Riseborough (W.E.), Paul Schneider (Bright Star), Shailene Woodley (The Descendants), Anton Yelchin (Like Crazy), Samantha Barks (Les Miserables), Bella Heathcote (Not Fade Away), Tom Holland (The Impossible), John Magaro (Not Fade Away), Ezra Miller (The Perks of Being a Wallflower) and Kelly Reilly (Flight).

STORY: Lee Daniels to Receive Directing Honor at Hollywood Film Awards (Exclusive) 

Last month, the Hollywood Film Awards and Dick Clark Productions, which also produce the Golden Globe Awards, entered into a partnership that could lead to the ceremony being televised in future years. Over the past 10 years, Hollywood Film Awards honorees went on to garner a total of 96 Oscar nominations and 34 Oscars.

Other 2013 honorees who have already been announced include 12 Years a Slave director Steve McQueen and supporting actress Lupita Nyong'o; 42's supporting actor Harrison Ford; August: Osage County's ensemble and supporting actress Julia Roberts; Before Midnight's lead actress/co-screenwriter Julie Delpy, lead actor/co-screenwriter Ethan Hawke and co-screenwriter/director Richard LinklaterBehind the Candelabra producer Jerry Weintraub; Captain Phillips producer Michael De Luca; Dallas Buyers Club's lead actor Matthew McConaughey and supporting actor Jared Leto; Gravity's lead actress Sandra Bullock; Lee Daniels' The Butler director Lee Daniels; Monsters University director Dan Scanlon and producer Kori Rae; Pacific Rim visual effects supervisor John Knoll; and Prisoners' supporting actor Jake Gyllenhaal.

Twitter: @ScottFeinberg