Hollywood Film Awards: 'Inside Out,' Carey Mulligan, Joel Edgerton Join List of Honorees (Exclusive)

'Black Mass' supporting actor Joel Edgerton, 'The Big Short' director Adam McKay and 'Spotlight' co-screenwriters Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer will also collect honors on Nov. 1.
Courtesy of Disney/Pixar
'Inside Out'

Inside Out, Carey Mulligan, Joel Edgerton, Adam McKay, Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer have joined the parade of Oscar contenders set to receive special accolades at the 19th Hollywood Film Awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Nov. 1, The Hollywood Reporter has learned.

The Hollywood Animation Award will go to Inside Out, the Disney-Pixar pic that is one of the few critical and popular hits of the season. Suffragette's Mulligan, a past Oscar nominee for 2009's An Education, will receive the Hollywood Actress Award. Black Mass' Edgerton and The Big Short's McKay will collect the Hollywood Breakthrough Actor Award and Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award, respectively. And McCarthy and Singer, co-scribes of best picture Oscar frontrunner Spotlight, will share the Hollywood Screenwriter Award.

The Hollywood Film Awards previously announced a number of this year's other honorees. Among them: The Danish Girl's Tom Hooper for the Hollywood director award; Sicario's Benicio Del Toro for the Hollywood supporting actor award; The Danish Girl's Alicia Vikander for the Hollywood breakout actress award; Brooklyn's Saoirse Ronan for the new Hollywood award; the principal cast of Straight Outta Compton (O'Shea Jackson Jr., Corey Hawkins and Jason Mitchell) for the Hollywood breakout ensemble award; Joy's Robert De Niro for the Hollywood career achievement award; Trainwreck's Amy Schumer for the Hollywood comedy award; Asif Kapadia's Amy for the Hollywood documentary award; Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth's "See You Again" (Furious 7) for the Hollywood song award; Alexandre Desplat (The Danish Girl, Suffragette) for the Hollywood film composer award; Cinderella for the Hollywood costume design award; Black Mass for the Hollywood editing award; Jurassic World for the Hollywood visual effects award; Bridge of Spies for the Hollywood cinematography award and the Hollywood sound award; Mad Max: Fury Road for the Hollywood sound award and the Hollywood make-up & hairstyling award; and Furious 7 for the Hollywood blockbuster award.

This year's ceremony will not be televised, unlike last year's, which aired on CBS but generated disappointing ratings. Nevertheless, Dick Clark Productions, which became a key investor in the event in 2013, will continue to produce it. "The Hollywood Film Awards is an incredible brand, previewing some of the biggest movies and stars of the year, while launching the award season," says Allen Shapiro, CEO of DCP. The recipients of the event's many other awards will be announced in the coming days and weeks.