Hollywood Film Awards Announces 10 Nominees for Hollywood Movie Award (Exclusive)

The category's winner will be determined by the general public through voting on the Yahoo! Movies website.
Warner Bros.

The 15th annual Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Film Awards has disclosed its 10 nominees for the 2011 Hollywood Movie Award, a category that celebrates the most popular film of the year as determined by the general public through voting on the Yahoo! Movies website. The winner will be honored at the Hollywood Film Awards gala ceremony, which will take place at the Beverly Hilton on Oct. 24, 2011.

The nominees, in alphabetical order, are: Captain America: The First Avenger, Cowboys & Aliens, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows -- Part 2, The Help, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, Rango, Rise of the Planet of the Apes, Super 8, Transformers: Dark Side of the Moon, and X-Men: First Class.

Carlos de Abreu, the founder and executive director of the event, told The Hollywood Reporter, "We are very excited that the Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Film Awards, together with Yahoo! Movies, will continue their tradition of providing the public at large with the opportunity to vote for their favorite movie."

Sean Phillips, executive producer Yahoo! Movies, added, "The Hollywood Movie Awards set the early tone for the upcoming movie awards season, and Yahoo! Movies is delighted to once again be the destination where film fans can vote for their favorite movie of the year."

In recent weeks, as "The Race" was the first to report, de Abreu announced the recipients of several other prizes, as well: the cast of The Help for the Hollywood Ensemble Award; Oscar nominee Michelle Williams (My Week with Marilyn, Meek's Cutoff, Take This Waltz) for the Hollywood Actress Award; Oscar nominee Christopher Plummer (Beginners) for the Hollywood Supporting Actor Award; Oscar winner Diablo Cody (Young Adult) for the Hollywood Screenwriter Award; Rango for the Hollywood Animation Award; Letty Aronson (Midnight in Paris) for the Hollywood Producer Award; Oscar nominee Emmanuel Lubezki (The Tree of Life) for the Hollywood Cinematographer Award; Oscar winner Stephen Mirrione (The Ides of March) with the Hollywood Editor Award; Oscar nominee Alberto Iglesias (The Skin I Live In, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy) for the Hollywood Film Composer Award; Oscar nominee James Murakami (J. Edgar) for the Hollywood Production Designer Award; Oscar winner Scott Farrar (Transformers: Dark of the Moon) for the Hollywood Visual Effects Award; Michel Hazanavicius (The Artist) for the Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award; Joseph Gordon-Levitt (50/50) for the Hollywood Breakthrough Actor Award; Jessica Chastain (Coriolanus, The Debt, The Help, Take Shelter, and The Tree of Life) for the Hollywood Breakthrough Actress Award; Felicity Jones (Like Crazy) for the New Hollywood Award; and Oscar nominee Glenn Close (Albert Nobbs) for the Hollywood Career Achievement Award. He said that the remaining honorees will be announced over the next few weeks.