Laura Dern and Cuba Gooding Jr. to Present Honors at the 39th Student Academy Awards

Laura Dern Headshot Enlightenment Premiere - P 2011
Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Laura Dern Headshot Enlightenment Premiere - P 2011

Actors Laura Dern, Cuba Gooding Jr., Greg Kinnear and Mena Suvari will l serve as presenters at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 39th annual Student Academy Awards on June 9 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

Hosted by Academy president Tom Sherak, the awards ceremony is the culmination of a week of industry activities that the Academy is hosting for the 13 student filmmakers from the U.S. and abroad who have been selected as winners this year.

While all winners know they will each receive an award, their placement – Gold, Silver or Bronze – will not be revealed until the ceremony. Gold Medal award winners receive cash grants of $5,000, Silver Medal award winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal award winners receive $2,000.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards.

The ceremony is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets are available online at, in person at the Academy box office, or by mail.