Marvel President Kevin Feige Named Motion Picture Showman of the Year by IATSE Local 600

Kevin Feige
Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige is being tapped with Motion Picture Showman of the Year honors by the Publicists of the International Cinematographers Guild.

The group, also known as IATSE Local 600, will present Feige with the award at the Publicists’ 50th annual Awards Luncheon to be held at the Beverly Hilton on Feb. 22, two days before the Oscars.

Feige most recently produced the biggest film of 2012, The Avengers, which became Disney's highest-grossing domestic release of all time.

“Kevin Feige’s understanding and appreciation of publicity and promotion in the role of a movie’s success has led to a string of blockbuster feature films adapted from the pages of Marvel comic books during the past 10 years,” awards committee chairman Henri Bollinger said.

VIDEO: 'Iron Man 3' Trailer: Marvel Hero Gets Darker

In his current role as producer and president of Marvel Studios, Feige oversees all creative aspects of the company’s feature film and home entertainment activities. He is producing Iron Man 3, which is slated for release May 3; Thor: The Dark World (Nov. 8); Captain America: The Winter Soldier (April 4, 2014); Guardians of the Galaxy (Aug. 1, 2014); an Avengers sequel (May 1, 2015); and Ant-Man (Nov. 6, 2015).

Feige’s other recent producing credits include Thor, Captain America: The First Avenger and Iron Man 2.

Since joining Marvel in 2000, Feige has been involved in key capacities for all of the company’s theatrical film productions.

The guild also will hand out its Television Showman of the Year Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, Maxwell Weinberg Motion Picture and Television Publicist awards, Bob Yeager Award and Les Mason Award.

IATSE Local 600 represents more than 7,000 members who work in film, TV and commercials as directors of photography, camera operators, visual effects supervisors, still photographers, camera assistants, film loaders, publicists and all members of camera crews.