THR's Alex Ben Block Nominated for Press Award by Hollywood Publicists

The group named contenders for the Les Mason Achievement Award, the Press Award, International Media Award and Excellence in Unit Still Photography.

The Hollywood Reporter's Alex Ben Block has been nominated for the Press Award by the publicists of the International Cinematography Guild, which announced the nominees for their 50th Annual Awards Luncheon on Jan. 22. The luncheon will be held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Friday, February 22.

Among the other nominees for the Press Award, which honors members of the American Media, were Mike Fleming (Deadline Hollywood), Pete Hammond (Deadline Hollywood), Jeff Jensen (Entertainment Weekly), David Karger (Fandango) and Scott Mantz (Access Hollywood).

In June 2012, Block was honored as Entertainment Journalist of the Year at the Southern California Journalism Awards by the Los Angeles Press Club.

The highest honor the International Cinematography Guild (IATSE Local 600) can bestow on one of their members is the Les Mason Lifetime Achievement Award. Past winners have included Viewpoint Inc. agency owner Jennifer Allen and publicity agent Stan Rosenfield. The nominees for the 2013 award are Hilary Clark, an independent publicist; Sheryl Main, unit publicist; Heidi Schaeffer, vice president at PMKBNC Public Relations; Murray Weissman, founder/chairman of Weissman/Markovitz Communications and Deborah Wuliger, unit publicist.

The International Media Award nominees are Jean Cummings (Japan), Ramzi Malouki (Tunisia and Tahiti), Elisabeth Sereda (Austria), Lynn Tso (Taiwan) and James White (UK).

The nominees for Excellence in Unit Still Photography in Motion Pictures are Claire Folger, Dale Robinette, Jamie Trueblood, Merle Wallace, Wilson Webb and Barry Wetcher.

The television still photography nominees are Richard Foreman Jr., Matt Kennedy, Justin Lubin, Suzanne Tenner, Robert Voets and Michael Yarish.

In addition to these awards, Kirk Douglas is being honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award, and Kevin Feige, president of Marvel Studios, is being honored with the Motion Picture Showmanship Award. Also, Chris McCumber and Jeff Wachtel, co-presidents of USA Network, are being honored with the Television Showmanship Award, the Maxwell Weinberg Showmanship Awards for Motion Pictures and Television and the Bob Yeager Award, which recognizes significant community service.