Palm Springs Film Fest: 'The Favourite' Star Olivia Colman Tapped for Desert Palm Achievement Award

The 44-year-old will be feted at the fest's annual awards gala on Jan. 3.
Stefania D'Alessandro/WireImage
Olivia Colman

Olivia Colman, the British Emmy, Golden Globe and BAFTA award winner who is currently generating best actress Oscar buzz for her work in Yorgos Lanthimos' The Favourite, has been chosen to receive the Palm Springs International Film Festival's Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actress, at the fest's annual awards gala on Jan. 3.

The 30th edition of PSIFF is set to run Jan. 3-14.

Previous recipients of the honor include Halle Berry, Cate Blanchett, Sandra Bullock, Marion Cotillard, Julianne Moore, Natalie Portman, Saoirse Ronan and Charlize Theron.

"In The Favourite, Olivia Colman steals the show as a frail and aloof Queen Anne, whose attention is being sought by two scheming cousins," fest chair Harold Matzner said Thursday in a statement. "For this superb performance, that has received much critical acclaim and awards recognition, it is our honor to present the Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actress to her."

For her work in the film, Colman has already won the Venice Film Festival and Los Angeles Film Critics Association's best actress prizes, and is nominated for two Critics' Choice Awards, best actress and best actress in a comedy, as well as the best actress (musical or comedy) Golden Globe.

PSIFF previously announced several other honors to be presented at its awards gala: Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman) will receive the Career Achievement Award; Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk) will receive the Chairman's Award; Bradley Cooper (A Star Is Born) will receive the Director of the Year Award; Glenn Close (The Wife) will receive the Icon Award; Rami Malek (Bohemian Rhapsody) will receive the Breakthrough Performance Award; Melissa McCarthy (Can You Ever Forgive Me?) will receive the Spotlight Award; Alfonso Cuaron (Roma) will receive the Sonny Bono Visionary Award; and Green Book's co-writer/director Peter Farrelly and stars Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali will receive the Vanguard Award.