Oscars: International Feature Film Exec Committee Chair Steps Down

Diane Weyerman
Ilya S. Savenok/Getty Images

Diane Weyerman at the 2020 Sundance Film Festival "Collective" premiere.

Diane Weyermann, who has served as co-chair of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' International Feature Film Executive Committee, which helps to determine the nominees for the best international feature Oscar, is stepping down from that post — and recusing herself from serving on the executive committee in any capacity — citing the appearance of a conflict of interest.

The Hollywood Reporter has confirmed this development with the Academy.

Weyermann, in her day job, serves as chief content officer of Participant Media, and it appears that the film that triggered her departure is Collective, a Magnolia- and Participant-distributed documentary that Romania has now officially submitted for consideration in the international feature Oscar race, as well.

David Rubin, the Academy's president, has appointed the Danish filmmaker Susanne Bier to replace Weyermann as Larry Karaszewski's co-chair.