Palm Springs Film Fest: 'The Big Short' Set for Ensemble Performance Award

The Big Short Still 1 - H 2015

The principal cast of The Big Short — comprised of Christian Bale, Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling and Brad Pitt — has been tapped for the Ensemble Performance Award at the Palm Springs International Film Festival, the 27th edition of which is set to run Jan. 1-11. Carell, Bale and co-writer/director Adam McKay will collect the hardware on behalf of the group at the annual PSIFF Awards Gala on Jan. 2.

This joins a long list of accolades for the film, including a best ensemble SAG Award nom and a best picture (musical or comedy) Golden Globe Award nom.

Previous recipients of PSIFF's Ensemble Performance Award include Babel, The Social Network, Argo, American Hustle and The Imitation Game, all of which went on to receive best picture Oscar noms after being lined up for this honor. (Argo won.)

"Wall Street greed and its reverberating effects on the U.S. economy offer a modern backdrop for Adam McKay's smart and funny film," said fest chair Harold Matzner. "Taking a complicated subject — the 2008 subprime mortgage bond crisis — McKay and his perfectly cast stars weave an engaging comedic story of a group of oddball money managers who see the trainwreck coming and conspire to benefit. For this wildly entertaining ride and the fine group of actors who propel it along, the Palm Springs International Film Festival presents The Big Short with its Ensemble Performance Award."

PSIFF previously announced that The Martian lead actor Matt Damon will receive its Chairman's Award; Black Mass lead actor Johnny Depp will receive its Desert Palm Achievement Award (actor); Carol and Truth lead actress Cate Blanchett will receive its Desert Palm Achievement Award (actress); The Danish Girl and Ex Machina supporting actress Alicia Vikander will receive its Rising Star Award; Room lead actress Brie Larson will receive its Breakthrough Performance Award; Steve Jobs lead actor Michael Fassbender will receive its International Star Award (actor); Brooklyn lead actress Saoirse Ronan will receive its International Star Award (actress); Trumbo lead actor Bryan Cranston will receive its Spotlight Award (actor); Carol supporting actress Rooney Mara will receive its Spotlight Award (actress); and Spotlight co-writer/director Tom McCarthy will receive its Sonny Bono Visionary Award.